RSS Feed

My Ovaries. A love/hate story.

Posted on

I’m sitting here thinking of ways to be poetic about my ovaries, conception, ovulation, motherhood, etc, and really what I’m left with is the general consensus that my ovaries fucking suck. Why they suck is something that I’m still trying to get to the bottom of, and something that I will be attempting to explore in this blog. I got diagnosed with PCOS last year after having abnormal cycles my entire menstruating life. Like many women with PCOS, I was completely clueless that there was a major problem going on in the ovulation department. My periods came when they wanted to come, and that was normal…right? Sigh. I can’t believe how naive I was. Turns out that most women get their period every 28-35 days consistently, and me? Well…I’m lucky if I get one every 50 days. I also have bad PMS when I do get my period. The days leading up to the big visit from Aunt Flo are *awesome*– I can barely peel myslef out of bed, and I cry at Verizon commercials. True story.

Since being diagnosed with PCOS at the beginning of 2010, I went on the pill, began dating my now husband (known to this blog as “Hubs”), and got married to Hubs. I stopped taking the pill in August 2011 when we decided we wanted to start trying for a kid. I had one normal cycle that was 36 days long, and now? It’s back to nothing. Zip. Nada. I’m at CD 50 and counting. I’m trying to temp, and it’s all over the map. My body is resuming its post-pill non-ovulatory crap. I’m frustrated.

Since I have spent the last 2 months obsessively researching every single thing about PCOS on the internet, I thought that blogging about my punk-ass ovaries might be a good way to let off some steam, and wrap my head around this process.  I’m still very new to the world of attempting to have a baby, and as of now, I’m on no medication for my condition.

I will be posting more about PCOS and all of the fun symptoms many of us get to go through with this disease (I absolutely LOVE plucking my chin hairs in the bathroom mirror before bed), but at the core of it all, PCOS isn’t really about ovulation–it’s about the fact that the body is suffering from a hormonal imbalance that effects more than just reproduction. I need to make some big changes in my lifestyle in order to see a difference.

Many women with PCOS are also overweight, and for many of these gals, losing 5-10 pounds can help immensely with insulin resistance associated with PCOS and anovulation. Unfortunately, I’m a skinny girl with PCOS, so I’m not entirely sure if losing weight will help me at all. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

One response »

  1. Pingback: My 100th Post « Cease And Decyst

Leave a Reply

