RSS Feed

Fertile Q&A #1

Posted on

Your well-meaning questions shouldn't annoy me, but they do.  Here are some common comments and questions I get about difficulties TTC when speaking to women with normal cycles (aka Fertiles) who have never been more than a day late for their period (and that was only when they were, like, reeeealllly stressed about finals in college!) Excuse me while I punch myself in the face repeatedly.

  Are you temping?

Yes, of course I’m temping, you silly little Fertile. My temperatures, unlike yours, don’t start low, do a gorgeous preovulation dip, and soar to flying heights after ovulation until I test on CD 28 to see if I may be “preggo!”. You see, my basal body temperature looks more like….how do I put this in laymen’s terms?… a Richter Scale chart? For example, my temperature has remained elevated for 16 days now–a sure tell sign that if I were you, I’d be knocked up. I’ve taken 3 pregnancy tests. All negative.

  Make sure you remember to relax.

Definitely, Fertiles! I’ll remember to keep that in mind as I’m sobbing in my pillow about feeling completely unwomanly that I don’t get a regular period, along with dealing with trying to time sex with my husband on the off chance that a miracle egg will pop from my cystic ovary some time in the next 3 months.

I hear Robitussin helps thin your cervical mucus. Have you tried that?

I haven’t yet. I’m too busy looking for the over-the-counter syrup that will remove the waxy, crusty, cystic, deflated fluid sacs on my ovaries so I can FUCKING OVULATE.

Why are you being so mean?

Because I want to conceive with my husband and create a family with him, and I’m jealous of anyone who ovulates on their own without any knowledge or whiff of a care that it’s really goddamn hard for some of us. I feel like it’s taken for granted. I know it’s shitty that I’m pissed at Fertiles. It’s not their fault they’re normal. I just want to experience childbirth, and child raising, and be an amazing mother. I am scared shitless about what infertility could do to my marriage, my sex life, and my health. I’m sorry.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

4 responses »

  1. I’ve only read two of your posts and I already love your blog. I hope to catch up over the next little while but meanwhile, please know there is a girl in Oz (where are you?) also furiously plucking chin hairs in the mirror and cursing her ovaries. Medium fives.

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much for your blog! I’ve been reading it non-stop over the past couple days…so great to read about someone being in the same boat as me and the frustration that comes from it! It makes me feel better knowing that I’m not the only one anymore…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

