RSS Feed

First Visit to the Accupuncturist

Posted on

I had my first acupuncture visit today, and it was pretty great. She was so nice, and sat with me for over an hour while I regaled her with sad stories about my ovaries, and missed periods. I found her on Yelp, which is sort of a crap shoot, but I’m happy about my choice. The cool thing was, she was the first woman I’ve spoken to about PCOS who actually “got” what I was going through, and had a road map of some sort that we’re going to try together to see if this helps me get my period.

1. Stay away from gluten. Evidently, it’s irritating to a lot of PCOS-ers.

2. Exercise 3 times a week. Nothing too crazy, but she said I should keep up my running (unlike some advice I’ve been getting to only do “gentle” exercise which kind of bores me, and doesn’t work up a sweat)

3. Eat plenty of red meat–twist my arm.

4. cut back on my dairy–when she checked my tongue it was slightly swollen and “greasy”–ew. She said that was due to a waterlogged body and liver/spleen stagnation. Dairy aint good for that.

5. Try white wine, if I’m going to drink. Red wine tends to disrupt sleep more frequently for some reason. She said I could have a glass of wine on the weekend if I’d like. I like this lady!

She would like me to go to her 2x per week until I ovulate regularly, then down to once. At $95/pop that isn’t cheap, but my insurance will pick up 30% of it. I’m also going to see if I can get a “frequent needle” discount or something.

For those of you who have never tried acupuncture, it’s well worth it. I could barely feel the needles–except a little bit going in. Whether or not this actually helps will be the test!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

2 responses »

  1. I’m glad someone else is being told to keep running. I get so many ” do you think you’re exercising too much ? ” comments that I was beginning to question myself andthe doc who told me to keep exercising! Oy!

    Reply
    • Just went for a 3 mile run today! Feeling great. Running makes my anxiety levels go way down, so I feel like this has to be a good thing for TTC. I know many women who ran well into their pregnancies and they and their babies are just fine. Moderation is key, and as long as you’re not stick thin or severely underweight, I’d listen to your body if it’s telling you it feels good to exercise!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

