RSS Feed

Acupuncture…Good? Or A Scheme to drain me of $95/session?

Posted on

So, I’m having second thoughts about acupuncture. I feel like it *can* work…but I also feel quite skeptical now that I’m being asked to shell out $95 2 times a week until I get my period. That’s almost $200 a WEEK! I canceled my appointment today as I was realizing that I’d better be really really sure what I am getting into.

The more I research PCOS the more I also realize that some of the advice that my acupuncturist gave me about eating right for fertility does not apply to me, and could actually be really detrimental to my cysts. This leads me to question her knowledge in general. For example: She recommended I eat lots and lots of red meat. Although I wouldn’t have known this if I hadn’t been obsessively calmly researching things that aggrivate PCOS, meat produces an acidic environment in our bodies. This acidic environment causes CYSTS. Normal Fertiles may be able to eat tons of meat and process the acidity differently, but for me, red meat is not good. An acidic environment is also what causes YEAST INFECTIONS–something else that us PCOS-ers are also very prone to, given that our bodies are prone to being acidic.  I feel like this acupuncturist may not know as much about PCOS treatment as she claims…I’m edgy. Nervous. Indecisive.

My next step is to make an appointment with my ObGyn to get another blood work up for all of my hormones so I know exactly what I’m dealing with. I got one over a year ago before I started the birth control pill, and my estrogen was very low. Progesterone was normal, and FSH/LH was at a 2:1 ratio (another classic symptom of PCOS.) I had mild insulin resistance, and so I have since been attempting a low GI diet, although my seriousness on that will ramp up after Thanksgiving (I cannot stomach the thought of giving up the blessed, blessed stuffing, pies, and basically anything that will send me in to a diabetic coma. Fertility be damned!! ).My testosterone levels, although in the normal range, were also skewing high, leading me to believe that I need to do something to lower my androgen levels–which may subsequently lower the number of chin hairs I pluck on a daily basis. I will do a post on natural remedies for lowering androgen levels soon.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

2 responses »

  1. Two times per week sounds like a lot to me. Do you have any friends who can recommend an acu? Does your OB/Gyn have any names of any? I got my original acu’s name from my old OBGyn. I can also see about getting a name for you…

    Reply
    • Thanks for the first comment, HRF! 🙂 I just got a rec from a fellow blogger out in LA who loved her acupuncturist so much she is now going to be her doula (after two years of TTC). So perhaps I will go with her. Then again..perhaps I will save my money right now and try other things. We’ll see!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

