RSS Feed

3 freakin millimeters

Posted on

Yes, folks, that’s how “thick” my uterine lining is…after 3 months of not bleeding…and by “thick”, I mean, Leanne Rimes.

For anyone who’s curious what 3mm looks like in scale, here is a 3mm wide fuel cell.

To start at the beginning, Hubs and I went to the doctor today and he did an ultrasound on me. Not only are there lots and lots and lots of lovely cysts all over my ovaries (duh), he checked out my uterus and started clicking away on the ultrasound machine as he was measuring my uterine lining.

When I asked him how thick it was, he said rather calmly, “3 millimeters.”  Me: “I’m sorry, did you just say 3mm?? That’s like, really thin.” Doc: “Yes, it’s thin, but don’t worry, we’ll figure it out.” Thanks positive doctor, but 3mm is basically NON EXISTENT. I don’t think the doc expected me to be so obsessive thorough in my approach to all of this pregnancy/PCOS shit, but I’ve read enough to know that implantation is impossible with anything less than 6mm. 8-10mm is optimal. And 3mm…well…that’s just not going to cut it for baby making. Why the FRACK he was so positive about that was kind of annoying. Am I missing something here?? I really don’t like thinking that my own doc is pulling the wool over my eyes, or trying to sugar coat things.

Doc said that hopefully once I start the Metformin, I will begin to ovulate, and that may jump start my hormones to thicken up my lining. Is this true, or some bullshit he was trying to sling at me so I didn’t start bawling in the stirrups?

He has prescribed Provera to jump start my period, and also 1500mg of Metformin which I will start to ramp up and take next week. (500mg Week 1, 1,000mg Week 2, and hopefully the full 1500mg by Week 3). On CD4, he wants me to come in and take a blood test again so we can see what’s going on with me hormonally.

Overall, he was pretty encouraging that things will work out with the Met and/or Clomid. He told me he doesn’t want me to stress…he wants me to be calm about it, and trust that he’s going to monitor me closely. I did feel a bit better hearing that, but I can’t stand feeling like I’m not being told the full truth–especially when my lining is that thin, and had I not known enough to ask, he would have never alerted me to it.

Has anyone been told they have a thin uterine lining? Does anyone know what can be done about it? I’m resisting many many urges to visit my dysfunctional enabler friend Google for the 10 billion page views I will get on the subject of thin uterine lining. Help!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

6 responses »

  1. I wish I had an answer. Thin lining is not a problem I have (yet) been told I have. Here’s to hoping your doc sorts it out soon. Modern medicine is amazing.

    Reply
  2. Since this cycle is at 3 months you’re obviously not going to ovulate this cycle, so the fact that your lining is thin for this cycle doesn’t matter. Once you start a new cycle your doc will monitor you from the beginning, not 3 months in and your body should develop a proper lining once you have your hormones sorted out. If not, he’ll know that from early on and can find a way to thicken your lining for your next cycle. I had several 90-100 day cycles last year and my period was never very heavy after them…one of them was 7 days of spotting, nothing more, but when I take Clomid or ovulate on my own my lining is fine…it just gets confused when the hormones are so messed up. I don’t think he’s lying to you, I think he just needs to see what’s going on from the beginning.

    Reply
    • Jesica. Thank you so much for this reply. It helps to hear that the thin lining could just be because my hormones are out of whack, and hopefully things will all sort out in the next couple of months. Must. chill. out. 🙂

      Reply
  3. May want to ask about femara. And it’s probably hormones (or lack thereof) that made your lining thin. I’m sure it will bulk up when you start ovulating again. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Svetlana Saponjic

    for thicker endo, eat fresh pineapple, beet. If you have bleeding for a long time, it;s pretty normal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

