RSS Feed

Am I INSANE? Or is it the Insanity?

Posted on

About a year ago, I was bored, feeling fat, and in a hotel room on a business trip (basically, the perfect storm for anything related to spending money on the internet or TV.)  An infomercial came on the airwaves (bingo!)…the kind of infomercial that made me sit up in the hotel bed, wipe the Funyun crumbs off my bloated stomach, squeeze my ab fat, and slowly reach for my cell phone to call for…

INSANITY!!!!!

It’s a 2 month exercise program that promises ridiculous results. It also makes no qualms that this will be the most difficult workout you’ve ever done. I’m all for getting way in over my head and attempting things that seem utterly impossible and painful. So of course I bought the DVD set–9 DVDs of pure madness!!!

When it arrived, I think I lasted all of a week on the program. Truly, the only word I have for this workout is “Insane”. Pushups, jumping jacks, jumps, kicks…it’s a heart attack waiting to happen. But I love it. It’s lead by a fitness guru/motivational type named Shaun T. Over the year since I’ve bought Insanity, Hubs and I have attempted to do it consistently, but can never manage to get through the 5-6 day/week regime it calls for without crawling into a fetal position. We’ll do a few days here and there, but our consistency is couched by the searing pains in our muscles as we’re beaten down and taunted by Shaun T. We scream expletives at our TV as we drip sweat and attempt to keep up with the crew of jacked beautiful 20-somethings who do the workout alongside Shaun. The cool thing is, these really in-shape people also look like they’re going to barf and die, so we don’t feel that bad.

Anyhow–long story short, I’ve been feeling bloaty and useless again lately, and I was thinking of issuing myself a challenge this week.  One week straight of Shaun T. It would involve me starting tomorrow, and doing at least 5 days of Shaun until the following Tuesday when Hubs and I leave town for a little mini vaykay to Palm Springs. My addiction to Soul Cysters and Google to research PCOS has become crack-like, and I need to find something else to focus on before I self destruct.

Anyone else out there have the Insanity DVDs? If you do, and want a partner, I’m gearing up for some serious work out craziness this week.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

4 responses »

  1. Oh, I wish I did! If AF comes this weekend I’ll do a 30 Day Shred challenge with you.

    Reply
    • I’m wishing you stick sticky thoughts, Ms. Katie. Let’s hope that you do not get to do 30 Day Shred with me after this weekend! I’ll check in with you later in the week!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: No more blood updates!** « Cease And Decyst

  3. Pingback: Day #5 Insanity Challenge and Chin Hair Update « Cease And Decyst

Leave a Reply

