RSS Feed

Weekly Chin Hair Count #3

Posted on

Another week, another chin hair tally!

And the count is….?

15.

Again.

Week 2: 17

Week 1: 15

Looks like the spearmint tea is still not working to curb the testosterone levels, but I’m going to give it some more time. I actually am liking the taste of the tea.

I was given a 10 day prescription of Provera and started the pills yesterday (Saturday). Today, I started spotting…wha?? I thought that I was supposed to take all 10, and then get my period 3-4 days after that! I’m not too sure what to do. Do I still take all 10 pills? I’m not getting any real blood, just the gross brown stuff. Does today count as CD1? Anyone ever have this happen? I’m sort of wondering why I would start bleeding while on the Provera…

And then, there’s the Metformin, still sitting in its prescription jar. I’m nervous to take it. I think I’m going to officially start it tomorrow, but I may wait to sort out the Provera stuff. Good news is, since I have two health plans, each one picked up some of the cost of the Met, and my total for it was $0! Sweet. I love that.

I’ve been doing some research on Red raspberry Leaf Tea for building up the uterine lining. Maybe I’ll try that, too?

Sorry for the bland entry….I’m feeling a little bit blah right now…don’t quite know why, but I think it’s period jitters. Hope everyone had a great weekend!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

2 responses »

  1. Svetlana Saponjic

    Have you checked your adrenals for androgens? Visit RE (reproductive endocrinologist). Excessed hair is testosterone problem, so too high testosterone is made in ovaries, as well as adrenals. I take metformin for excess testosterone in ovaries and low doses of dexamethasone (0.5mg) for excess androgens in adrenals.

    Reply
  2. Hi Svetlana, I’ve checked my TSH and testosterone levels. TSH was low, but not out of range. Testosterone was 68– high, but not out of range. Even so, I know that I have a testosterone problem. I’m starting Metformin to help lower the testosterone in my body caused by the insulin resistance (as well as the elevated androgens being released by my ovaries and the cysts on them). Don’t need to see an RE yet– Ob can do all of these tests, as well as prescribe Clomid and monitor me which is going to be much more cost effective for the time being. We’ll see!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

