RSS Feed

Completely PCOS-unfriendly recipes!

Posted on

I’ve decided I’m taking this year out with a bang. And by that, I mean diabetic coma.  I am allowing myself to indulge in whatever I want today, whenever I want it. Mimosa at noon? Why not. Chicken fingers for breakfast? Sure. Sugar laden sugar with sugar on top? I’ll take two. Hubs and I are heading out to a cheap motel on PCH later on this afternoon, and are then joining a small party of about 3 couples at our friend’s house down in that same area for potluck dinner, drinks, and festivities.

I have made two weight loss/ insulin resistant/lactose intolerant unfriendly recipes to bring with me to the potluck we’re having later tonight. Just thinking about how amazing these two dishes taste is enough to spike my blood sugar. In case that you or anyone else you know wants to die by cheese and sugar, I have posted the recipes below for your viewing/cooking pleasure. These are the hits of every party that I bring them to: you seriously can’t go wrong with them.

Green Chile and Cheese Casserole

This recipe has been handed down to me by my aunt. It is devoured by any and everyone who loves cheese.

Ingredients:

3 7oz cans whole green chile, 2lbs shredded cheddar, 1 lb shredded Jack, 8 eggs, 4 tbsp flour, 2 12oz cans evaporated milk, 1tsp salt, 1tsp pepper

Grease a 9 x 13 inch baking pan. Preheat oven to 350.

Slice the chiles so they lay open and flat. Put half of them on the bottom of the pan. Layer with half the cheeses. Place second layer of chiles over the cheese. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Stir together milk, eggs,  flour, salt and pepper. Pour over the chili and cheese. Bake for about 45 minutes until knife inserted comes out clean. Cry when you eat it because it’s so damn good.

Goat Cheese Cheesecake with Spiced Cherry Topping

This second recipe I got from Oprah Magazine almost 3 years ago. The flavors of the spiced cherries remind me of the holidays, and the cheesecake…well…let’s just say that it’s not low cal.

Here’s the link to the recipe! It’s a bit time consuming to make, but it will not disappoint.

Have a safe and happy evening tonight, and I’ll see you in the New Year!

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

2 responses »

  1. You go girl! Eat that sugar!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

