RSS Feed

UPDATE: Dr. Google has me F-ing FREAKED

Posted on

Ok, so…I just Dr. Googled “no period after Provera” and came up with three words that I never ever want to see…ever…”Premature Ovarian Failure”.

I swore up and down that I would NOT Dr. Google things anymore, and UGH! I can’t stop myself.

I guess that not getting my period after 10 days of Provera means one of two things: really high FSH levels, which would indicate POF…or very low estrogen levels, which still isn’t great, but may be treatable with hormone replacement. I know that I have low estrogen…but I’m seriously freaked out here. I left a message for my doc about the whole “no period yet” thing, and he called me back immediately and said I should come in this week for more tests. (It’s never a great sign when your doc calls you back right away and tells you to come in immediately, which is why I went to Dr. Google after he called me.) Dr. Google also said that there could be a possible pituitary tumor, adrenal tumor, thyroid shit, or hyperprolactinemia which sounds really scary.

Before I went on BCP, my FSH levels on two separate tests were at 5 and 7 which is in the normal range. My estradiol was on the low end of “acceptable”…so wtf?

I’m so confused, and really frustrated with all of this shit. Are ovaries and hormones that operate even semi-normally that much to ask???

Goddamnit.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

8 responses »

  1. I’ve never taken Provera and I agree that it’s always unsettling when your Dr. tells you to come in right away. But on the bright side, you’re getting more tests. I know it seems obvious that the reason you’re not pregnant is you’re not ovulating due to PCOS but maybe it’s something else that is EASIER to fix than PCOS. Let’s hope that this is not something hardcore like Premature Ovarian Failure and that they’re going to find something simple that can be fixed with a pill. Best of luck with your tests and please keep us updated!

    Reply
  2. Oh and step away from Dr. Google, he’s an asshole.

    Reply
    • Ha! Thanks so much for your encouraging words, Jesica. Means a lot 🙂 I will update the update as soon as I take another blood test on Thursday.

      Reply
  3. eek! Hope you get good news very soon!

    Reply
  4. I know you are going to want to slap me when I say this, but try and stay calm for now. Provera did bizarre things to me (I would spot for a few days, then OVULATE a few days after that, then get a real period. See? I told you: bizarre). PCOS is always a complicating factor. It may just be that a few weeks on BCP (I know, the irony) brings on a period better than progesterone. Keep us posted!

    Reply
  5. Don’t get confused and frustrated!! I always try to think of my probs as showing me something I obviously need to learn – something that if I listen will make my life a whole lot better. I know it’s hard, but it’s really helped me 🙂

    My Dr has just suggested I try progestrone to induce a bleed, but being low estrogen and hating drugs, I really don’t think it’ll help and don’t want to. I know if I didn’t bleed I’d be straight to Dr Google like you!

    Interested to hear what your oestrogen levels were.

    Can I subscribe to your blog somehow so I get notified of your posts?

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Alison. I appreciate the good vibes 🙂 I’m headed to the doctor today for more blood work, and will definitely be posting the results when I get them. I think he will do an estradiol and FSH test as well. In the upper left hand corner of my blog on my screen, there’s a little “Follow” button that you can click which (I think?) will notify you every time I post. It’s great to have you here!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

