RSS Feed

Off to see my BFF, the Gyno

Posted on

And really…who doesn’t want a BFF who looks at your lady parts?

I still haven’t had my period off the damn Provera pills, so I’m getting some blood work done today. My guess is that I have very low estrogen which is why I’m not bleeding, but I could have the dreaded HIGH FSH. We won’t think about that right now…

When I Dr. Googled, I came across a fertility site that had a specific section about Hypothalamic Amenorrhea. Many of these women who were posting had the exact same symptoms as me–night sweats, hair loss, very low estrogen, and no bleeding on Provera. I had never heard of Hypothalamic Amenorrhea before, but it’s mainly caused by stress (check!) and low body fat (also check). While many of these women exercised excessively and were under 18% body fat (definitely not me), most of the others with symptoms like me were skinny and had low calorie intake (sort of me).  Admittedly, there are days when I forget to eat, and wind up eating about 1500 calories, which is under the norm for me. While I’m not stick thin, I’m 5’6″ and about 125. A lot of why I don’t eat is stress related (when I’m stressed, I forget to eat.) So, it’s a vicious cycle. Evidently, if the body feels like it’s not getting enough calories, it shuts down your estrogen production. When you’re stressed, it does the same thing. Your hypothalamus (in the brain) is the center of all of the hormone regulation, and it just says f**k it, I’m not letting you ovulate this month.

I know I’m self diagnosing here, and I’m going to wait until I speak to me doctor before any further diagnosis, but I thought it was a strange coincidence that I had such similar symptoms as many of the women with this disorder.

As one of the most impatient people on Earth, it’s hard to say “wait and see”…but I guess I don’t have much choice!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

One response »

  1. Sounds promising! I hope this is the answer you’re looking for!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

