RSS Feed

Results are in…

Posted on

These are not pics of me. What this pic is, is a scientific study. 10 women were photographed on the day of her lowest estrogen level, and peak estrogen level out of all of the days in her cycle.  A composite of all of their pics were made on the highest and lowest days. (the two pics on the left) Peak estrogen levels made her rate as more attractive and feminine than lowest estrogen levels. Can you guess which pic is which?(answer is at the end of this post–don’t cheat!)

My doc just called me this morning with the results of my latest lab work.

FSH= 7.5 (not too bad–would have hoped for under 6, but at least I know that Premature Ovarian Failure is not the cause of my failure to get my period on the Provera Challenge test)

LH= 8.5

FSH/LH ratio is much closer to 1:1 than I was at last time!(my last test FSH 7/ LH 10)

Testosterone: 44 (is this normal? It’s lower than last time where I was at about 60)

TSH 1.4 (up from .78, which I’m glad for)

Prolactin 13.6 (normal)

And then…there was good ol’ estradiol…

Estradiol: Under 20.

This is piss poor. Basically, 50 is the level I want to be at. What the hell happened here? I knew that my levels would be low, but I wasn’t expecting this low.Do I even have ovaries or a vagina with levels this low? The weird thing is, even with levels this low, I have none of the other symptoms that go along with low estrogen levels (dryness, low sex drive, etc)

The doc advised me to keep taking the Metformin and possibly do some acupuncture for the next few months, but I feel like I need to step up my game in my diet–I need to start eating foods that are high in estrogen. Cherries, pomegranates, flax seeds….There is one thing I’ve done differently in the last 6 months that I feel may have contributed to my lack of estrogen: I gave up coffee. Caffeine is said to cause an increase in estrogen levels, so quitting it would be great for those with normal or above normal estrogen levels (most PCOS women do have high estrogen due to cysts releasing estrogen from their ovaries). But crap! I barely have any estrogen at all! Maybe caffeine was what was keeping me “woman”?

Does anyone else know of other natural remedies for low estrogen levels? I’ve heard of licorice being good. Soy too…anything I’m missing? Anyone have luck raising their estrogen?

And the answer is…the pic on the left is the pic where she has the highest estrogen levels. I want that pretty estrogen glow too!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

One response »

  1. Wow, those pics are incredible! It’s like, “no wonder I think I look like shit when I’m on my period…I DO!”

    I’m happy for you that your bloodwork came back a little better! Maybe going back on caffeine would be a good thing? I’m very interested to see this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

