RSS Feed

One Bladder Infection Up For Grabs!

Posted on

Love feeling like you have to piss 30 times a day? Love waking up in the middle of the night to piss and then feeling a distinct burn in your urethra that lasts for hours preventing further sleep? Can’t get enough of the acidic taste of straight cranberry juice? How about sitting on a jury panel during some of these symptoms?

I called my doctor’s office 3 or 4 days ago telling them that I was 99.999% certain I had an early stage bladder infection. He wouldn’t prescribe me medication until I gave a urine test, so I came in and peed in a cup. Today, lo and behold, he called me and told me I have 10,000 e-coli bacterium in my bladder. This may seem like a lot, but it’s actually on the very low end of the bladder infection spectrum (hence the reason I am able to type this entry and not doubled over in a pool of my own piss). To be fair to my doc about dragging me in for a test, I’m sort of like the “boy who cried bladder infection” as I’ve been “certain” I’ve had an infection before, only to be told that my bladder is just irritated.

This infection fortunately isn’t like some of the other ones I’ve had which are excruciating, and have me pissing blood. Strangely enough, I’ve been able to stave off using antibiotics by trying to keep myself hydrated and chugging cranberry, but I don’t know how much longer I’m going to last on this homeopathic path.

My husband sometimes chides me about my “high maintenance vag”, and I have always rolled my eyes at him, but after the last few days, I’m starting to believe him. Between my weird Provera spotting, frequent yeast infections, and now a bladder infection, I am starting to think I have the Paris Hilton of vaginas. Which would be great if I also had the Paris Hilton of bank accounts. Sigh.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

2 responses »

  1. Oh I’ve had a couple of those. They are AWFUL. Feel better soon!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: My 100th Post « Cease And Decyst

Leave a Reply

