RSS Feed

Text Book Case

Posted on

I may have mentioned this in a very early post, but with the new Spring Semester starting up, I’ll mention it again: I’m a closet student. Meaning, I have been sneaking out of work two to three nights a week this past year in order to go to night school and finish my prerequisites for Nursing School. Deviant, huh? Next thing you know I’ll be smoking a joint in the bathroom and letting Bobby go to “second” at prom.

Being a student on the sly has not been easy. The nights where I had to work a long day and then study for my virtually impossible Anatomy exams were not ones I nor my husband (who is not Bobby, thankfully) would like to relive. But when it’s all said and done…I think to myself…damn, girl. This is fun. Truly, it is. I am finally learning about things that interest me. In the span of 8 months, I’ve completed: Anatomy, Physiology, Statistics, and Nutrition. And I work about 50 hours a week. I’m not proud of many things, but I feel very proud about accomplishing this much.

I haven’t felt pride in my “real” job for years now. I work in the animation business as an executive/producer type. I make cartoons for kids. I know what you’re thinking: “OMG! Fun!!!!!!” Nope. Not fun. At least, not fun for me. It’s a career that has me wondering how the hell I got here, and why I stayed so long. Unfortunately, I know why I stayed…the money aint bad.

For as long as I have remembered, I have wanted to be involved in women’s health. I have no idea why, but even at nine or ten years old I would read books about women’s health related issues (childbirth, menstruation, etc). I think my mom thought the interest would go away after I hit puberty, but it never did. I am still utterly fascinated by any issues relating to childbirth and women’s health, and I’m finally making moves to actually study it. I find my current fertility predicaments to be incredibly ironic, given that I have been so fascinated with pregnancy from such an early age.

This semester, I’m taking two Psychology classes, both online,  so I don’t have to worry about sneaking out of work early. As much as I love starting class, my first chapter in my Lifespan Psychology class deals with…BINGO!…”Prenatal Development”. This is the topic that made me quietly cry during lecture in Physiology last semester (embarrassing). I am bacially dreading having to read about fetal development and ovulation again. Text books make it all seem so “matter of fact” that a woman’s cycle is between 28-32 days. They describe conception as if it’s something as quick and natural as a morning jog, or pooping. For once. Just ONCE. I would like a text book to address female infertility in their chapters on Conception. But nope. Not going to happen in this book. I’m glad it’s the first chapter and I can get it over with.

I gave my blood to the thyroid doc today–4 vials. Plus pee! I sure hope that he’s looking into some major shit. The nurse scratched my vein (ow) so now I have a bruise. I hope I can get more answers about my thyroid from all of these tests…

I want my period, damnit.

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

6 responses »

  1. Wow…sorry…making cartoons does sound awesome! However, I’m also equally fascinated by anatomy, statistics, psychology and all that stuff too (and my degrees are both in psych) so if you’re anything like me, I can see where you’re coming from. Making cartoons sounds cool but I couldn’t do it as a career. In the meantime, I’m happy for you that you’re on your way to doing something you love!

    Reply
  2. Sweet. You’ll be my OB nurse, Rachel at Eggs in a Row will be my doula, now I just need to find a midwife and I’m all set!

    Reply
  3. I am SO SO SO proud of you. Not only for going into a giving occupation, but for following your gut to do something else when it financially might mean taking a hit. I’m going through a lot of job soul-searching too. Woo hoo for Nurse Sunny!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

