RSS Feed

I can haz Clomid now?

Posted on

Hubs and I had a chat last night about speeding up the timeline for me to start Clomid. We were going to wait until May, but I think that we both are coming to the difficult understanding that my period/ovulation is not going to come along naturally…at least not any time soon. I may pop out an egg on my own before May, but the odds of that are slim, and the odds of that one egg fertilizing feel even lower. I have to bow my head in defeat on this one.

If I do Clomid, I want to be monitored. This will require me to look ask my gyno if this is something that he will do at his office, and I also need to find out if this is covered by insurance. If it isn’t we need to understand how much ultrasounds will cost (I think around $250).Hubs is going to make an appointment to get his sperm checked so we know if there is anything we need to be aware of before I start pill popping.

I would also like to have a “real” flow before I go on the Clomid, and I think that one month of BCPs will be the answer to this problem, since I didn’t bleed on Provera. My issue lies in the fact that I have very low estrogen levels, and BCPs seem to give me the boost of estrogen that I need. I really dislike birth control pills…I feel like they messed me up pretty badly and shut down my body from producing it’s own natural estrogen. But at this point, I don’t feel like waiting another year for my body to get back on track. I have to do something…

I’ve also heard of women taking estrogen while they take Clomid to help thicken their uterine lining. Perhaps this is another option, too.

Does anyone have any info or suggestions on how to proceed with Clomid? How many ultrasounds does one usually get on a monitored cycle? How many mg of Clomid do you usually start with? Do you take one pill a day, or is the dose spread out over the day? Has anyone taken estrogen while on Clomid? How much? On what day in my cycle would I take Mucinex/Robitussin to thin my CM?

So many questions… I’m sick and impatient of being in this sort of limbo with my body. Time to make another step forward.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

5 responses »

  1. I’m glad you’re asking so many questions! Here’s my answers from my experience.

    First, I didn’t get a chance to do this and I was STRONGLY against it at the time but I’ve completely changed my tune and think BCP is an AWESOME idea to help with your hormones, specifically because you have PCOS. Ovulating on my own after the miscarriage was like a big huge YOU DUMBASS WHY DIDN’T YOU TRY THE BCP’S! because the pills mimic pregnancy for your ovaries and it obviously really kick started my ovaries and let them de-cyst enough for me to ovulate. In hindsight I would have tried BCP for a month or 2 earlier in my journey and see if I ovulated on my own after coming off of them.

    Second, most Dr.’s will start you on 50mg of Clomid to see how you respond to it. You take one pill a day for 5 days, starting on either CD3 or CD5 and start using OPK’s somewhere around CD10-12, if you haven’t seen a LH surge by CD17? or something like that, 2 weeks after you take your first pill, then you go in for an ultrasound to see if your follies are growing and just need more time or if you’re not responding to the Clomid at all. If they’re growing you keep going with the OPK’s for another week and if you haven’t seen a surge then back for an ultrasound. That means you can have anywhere from 1-3 ultrasounds depending on your response to the Clomid. If you respond fine then you stay at 50mg for the next cycle or in my case we went down to 25mg and if you don’t respond they up you to 100mg and REPEAT, whole process all over again. Or of course you get your BFP! And btw, most OB’s don’t do monitored Clomid cycles, you usually have to go to an RE.

    As to the estrogen I have no idea, and as to the Mucinex/Robitussin I wouldn’t bother with this on your first Clomid cycle unless you already have CM issues. If you have normal CM it takes Clomid a few months to affect the CM and hopefully you get your BFP before you get that far.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  2. PP gave a lot of good info but here’s what I have to add:
    1. Clomid only works for some women – on me, it did not make me ovulate at 2 different dosages. However, it did leave me with cysts until the next cycle. Bah! I only tell you that so that you don’t worry if you don’t ovulate.
    2. I was monitored by my RE during my Clomid cycle, not my OBGyn.
    3. I never did Robitussin, etc. Instead, I used Preseed lubricant if I needed it. It is the only sperm friendly lube – I was shocked to find out other lubes (and saliva!) kill sperm!

    xoxo

    Reply
  3. Here’s my two cents:

    My OB was able to monitor me while on Clomid and then femara. Clomid didn’t work really well for me either and messed too much with my lining and CM. But hopefully it will be what does the trick for you!

    On all my medicated cycles I’ve done a CD 12 or CD13 ultrasound to measure uterine lining and follicle growth. I’ve only once had an additional ultrasound when my follicle growth wasn’t the greatest. Since my OB suggested that protocol it surprised me that my RE said they usually don’t do an ultrasound during clomid cycles because they would rather not know how many follicles are in there and instead just wait to see if patients ovulate. This makes very little sense to me, but whatever.

    With clomid the only side effects I really had were hot flashes. So prepare to be very warm.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  4. Gals, this info is SO SO SO HELPFUL!!! Thank you so much for all of this info. It truly helps. My Ob says he can do a monitored cycle, so I will be going to him instead of an RE right now in order to hopefully cut down on cost. I will keep everyone posted on the plan of attack!

    Reply
  5. I only ever had one ultrasound during my Clomid cycle (on CD 12 typically). I took 50mg of Clomid from cycle days 3-7 for four cycles (and ovulated each time). One tip- take it at night, it really helps minimize the side effects that way. I never took estrogen along with Clomid. I did use Mucinex during a cycle or two of Clomid typically starting it around cycle day 12, but I didn’t find that Clomid caused a reduction in cervical mucus for me (but Femara did oddly enough!).
    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

