RSS Feed

I’m meme-ing it up today!

Posted on

Over the past couple of days, I’ve been tagged in 2 blogs on a “getting to know you” meme that has been going around the internets. Thank you Sometimes, and Katie at The Cornfed Feminist!

Here’s the dilly-yo:

1 – Post the rules
2 – Answer the 11 questions from the person who tagged you.
3 – Create 11 new questions for the people you tag.
4 – Tag people and link them to your post.
5 – Let them know that you tagged them.
I’m going to answer both blogger’s sets of questions in two separate posts over the next couple of days.
I noticed that pretty much every blogger that I would like to tag has been tagged already by Sometimes or Cornfed. As such, if I tag you, and you’ve already been tagged by these lovely women, no pressure to answer my questions. I’d love to know more about you, though! Answer if you’d like!
Here’s my response to Cornfed’s Questions:
1. Who are your favorite bloggers?
I’m going to go with a few people I’ve read consistently for years: Jenna at Cold Antler Farm, The Happiness Project, Sara at Starfish Envy, and The Pioneer Woman.
2. What tips would I give to a beginning blogger?
Well…I consider myself to be a beginning blogger as I’ve only been at this for a few months, so not sure I’m the best person to take advice from! Thus far, I’ve learned that it’s important not to worry too much about how an entry sounds grammatically. It’s been a huge leap for me to just let things type and see where the words fall. This tactic helps keep the voice of the blog much more true to who I am. Not to mention, it saves on time.
3. What is your occupation? What is your favorite part of the occupation?
I work in the entertainment division of a toy company, and I make animated TV shows based on our toy lines. I also create original animated TV show concepts that we then eventually make into toy lines after we sell the TV ideas to a network.  If your brain just exploded, don’t worry. I don’t know what I do,either. Essentially, I earn my pay by pushing toys and television onto young impressionable minds. In all honesty, I don’t really enjoy my job.  I’ve been doing it in order to keep our mortgage paid and have my health insurance…but I have been taking night classes on the sly in order to go back to school and become a Nurse Practitioner in Women’s health. 6 classes down, about 3 more to go until I can apply to Nursing School!
4. What do I like to do in my spare time?
Nap. Eat foods that are bad for me. Hike. Go running. Paint By Number (yes, I do Paint By Number…it calms my overactive mind!) Take baths. Sing along with Hubs at the piano.
5. Top 5 sites I visit on the internet
1. Google 2. Gmail 3. Facebook 4. Hot Chicks with Douchebags 5. The Superficial
6. What is your favorite vacation place and why?
I have two. One is Maui–I know it doesn’t sound that original or exotic, but it was where Hubs and I honeymooned, and I associate it with extreme relaxation and romance. Not to mention, we discovered Koiso there–the best sushi place in the entire universe, amen. Number 2 is Positano. My summer after college, I backpacked through Europe on my own and part of my random travels took me to this little seaside town on the coast of Italy. I had only intended on staying there for 2 days, and I ended up there for a week, lying on the beach and drinking limoncello. I associate this place with being young and free–it is a small piece of paradise and calmness I carry with me.
7. What is my favorite subject to blog about?
Hmm. I like personifying my health problems and coming up with creative ways to introduce mundane medical issues that I’m dealing with into the blog. I haven’t really posted enough have a favorite subject yet! I feel like the blog is just getting its sea legs.
8. One unique fact about myself:
I have only farted in front of my husband twice in two years–both times accidentally. He has marked both dates on the calendar to commemorate the occasions. It’s weird: I am totally open about my other body functions, I’m not uptight about sex, fluids, you name it…but for some reason, I get so uptight about farting in front of him. It makes me sad that I am this neurotic because Hubs really couldn’t care less, and farts around me all of the time. He now tries to catch me farting as a game. A game he will LOOSE! How do I break this farting phobia??
9. Favorite book of all time?
The Hobbit or Watership Down. Both books were so magical in their own right.
10. Favorite food?
Homemade macaroni and cheese. Cheese tickles my fancy. I really think that even if I was diagnosed as lactose intolerant, I’d rather have explosive diarrhea a few times a week than give up cheese.
11. Favorite movie(s) of all time:
Tootsie. Basically, I love Dustin Hoffman. Wedding Crashers, Swingers, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Meet the Parents, Bad Santa.
12. What will I do if I can’t conceive
Honestly, I haven’t even had those thoughts yet…I’m just starting this journey, and have yet to hit the fertility meds, so I’m going to keep upbeat and positive about it for now! I know it will not be an easy road, but I have faith that I will be able to get pregnant some day. I have to keep that faith alive right now.
Answers to Sometimes’ questions coming tomorrow!
The Bloggers I would like to tag are:

HRF at Waiting For Little Feet
Rachel at Eggs in a Row
Babysocks
Theresa at Journey to the Finish Line
Daydreaming in Progress
Jesica at Just Smile and Blog
Detour to Motherhood
My Questions:
1. Which celebrity did you crush on as a teenager?
2. What was the last movie you went to see in the theaters?
3. What is your favorite dish to make? Any reason why?
4. What was your favorite childhood cartoon?
5. If you could live in any time period, what would it be?
6. what is your favorite season?
7. Do you play a musical instrument? If so, which one?
8. How has IF effected your relationship with your mom? Or, has it had no effect?
9. Have you ever broken a bone?
10. What’s your favorite flower?
11. Baths: bubbles or no bubbles?
About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

5 responses »

  1. Great responses. Fertility meds will possibly make you soooo gassy you won’t be able to avoid long and loud farts. It became it’s own game in our house last week!!!

    Reply
  2. Two things. I LOVE paint by number! I buy them at Wal-Mart and do them to relax, too!

    Farting. I love that your hubby put your farting dates on the calendar. My calendar would be overflowing if my hubby did that. Just let loose! Although if you never do it can still be funny too. My little sister texts me every time my mom farts because it’s such a rare occasion. 🙂

    Reply
  3. ooh thank you! Hopefully I can get to this soon! I loved your questions and may have to answer the same ones you did on top of the ones you are asking.

    Oh, and that farting thing is hysterical!!

    Reply
  4. You ladies are beginning to make me think I need to give this farting in front of Hubs thing a try!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Tag! (Again) | Daydreaming in Progress…

Leave a Reply

