RSS Feed

I’m going gluten free, bitches!

Posted on

I don’t really think you’re bitches. I’m just trying to be badass. I’m writing this entry badassedly chugging my Green Monster smoothie, in a much better mood from this morning, but not out of the woods yet in terms of being very uneasy about my FSH levels. However, I need to plow forward.

I have been purposefully staying away from Dr. Google, as I really don’t need any more stress inducing info on what moderately elevated FSH numbers mean. My only slight saving grace is that I feel that they may be elevated because my body is desperately trying to pop out an egg from my crusty ovary. It may not have to do with a quality/quantity issue, but simply from a “can’t get a damn egg to ripen due to hormone imbalances” issue. At least that’s what I’m hoping. I haven’t had a Day 3 hormone test in years, so I have no clue how accurate these FSH levels they’re testing are on Day (literally) 157 of my “cycle”.

I just checked in with a friend of mine today who has PCOS.  She conceived her son after many rounds of IUI and injectables. This time around (for #2), she is trying to go the natural route. She has been working with a nutritionist who has her on only 3 supplements: Vitamin D, Meta 1-3-C, and Omega 3. She is also going gluten free. She has been doing this for the last  3 months, and get this folks: She has had a period EVERY MONTH since going gluten free. Meaning, 3 periods. In 3 months. She has never–not once in her life–had even 2 periods in a row–so I have a hard time believing that it’s a coincidence.

I know, I know…everyone’s bodies are different…I shouldn’t get my hopes up too much…but hearing about her experiences going gluten free and how much it helped her has inspired me to try it for 2 months before I go back on the pill/Clomid. I’m starting today. It will be my big “hail Mary” pass in my attempt to ovulate on my own. If it doesn’t work, on to the pill I go.

An update on my Yoga Challenge: My neck is fucked. I’ve had to abandon the yoga challenge for the time being. I’m seeing a chiropractor tomorrow to see if he can help the pain, but I have basically been sleeping in 1 hour shifts at night before being woken up because the pain is so intense. So yeah. Way to go me for standing on my freaking head. So much for yoga. I’m such an idiot.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

4 responses »

  1. Ok, if you go gluten free and it starts to work then I’m going to try that, too. I’m just too skeptical.

    And WTF with your neck! That sucks! I hope they figure out how to make it feel better.

    Reply
    • I am totally in your boat, Katie! I’m hugely skeptical, but at this point, I have nothing to loose except joy from life as I give up pizza, cookies, and basically anything other food that makes me happy. But I guess if I’m not able to do yoga, I have to find another challenge at some point!

      I loaded up on Tylenol PM last night, which helped my sleep/pain significantly 🙂

      Reply
  2. So, this is NOT to rain on your parade you should DEFINITELY give the gluten free a go, but I have to share my experience. I did this too, was taking almost the exact same supplements was on a very low carb/gluten free diet and after 4 months or so I also had a few normal periods BUT they were ANOVULATORY. Is your friend temping? cause if I wasn’t I would have assumed my very normal 30 and 32 day cycles were perfect ovulatory cycles, but no go, completely anovulatory, not even sure why I bled! Make sure you temp when you start this diet, don’t assume short cycles are ovulatory. Good luck!

    Reply
    • This is TOTALLY great info, Jesica. Really good to know. I will be absolutely shocked if I get my period, and more shocked if I ovulate…it’s pretty much a last ditch attempt to try something “natural” before I kick the Clomid into high gear. I don’t know if my friend is temping right now. I am definitely going to be tracking/temping, so we’ll see if there is any outcome at all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

