RSS Feed

Facebook “Blow Out”

Posted on

What’s better than having a friend who got his wife pregnant after 2 months of “trying”?

Oh yeah! I know!

Reading his Facebook status updates where he and a bunch of other fertile parents like to sit and laugh about baby feces and what their childless friends must be thinking!

In Fertile Speak, a “blow out” isn’t something you get at a salon…I guess it’s a cutsie way of saying that his kid’s shit exploded out of her diaper.

Awwwww! Cute!!!!!!!

To my fertile friend: Yes, I have blocked your fertile feed from showing up from now on. This isn’t your first offense at a status update like this. What I’m “thinking”  is that you clearly have no effing CLUE that many of your childless friends would love to have a baby that shits all over the place.

To Andrea: Ahahahaaa! Birth control pills! I get it! It’s so FUNNY being childless! After reading this post on how awful baby poo is, all us wacky childless folks want to do is pop birth control pills so we don’t get pregnant!! AHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAA!

Fuck you.

When I sit down and think about all of the medical expenses the ALI community “invests” in, and all of the heartache this causes, I get so damn mad at posts like these.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

9 responses »

  1. I feel the exact same way. It makes me soo angry! I am ready to leave the facebook b/c I can’t take one more effing sonogram photo. (pardon my french)

    Reply
  2. I would have thought this post would be funny, until they start talking about how it affects their “childless friends.” I don’t mind my friends posting about their baby shits, or whatever, but what I hate the most is when people say “wow this kind of thing is the best form of birth control for my childless friends.” NO. SORRY. WE ARE NOT SCARED OF BABY SHIT. People are oblivious.

    Reply
  3. Ugh, that was just totally uncalled for. Like Robin, I don’t care that friends talk about their baby’s poo being everywhere (although I’d rather not hear about it..), it’s if/when they are disrespectful to anyone for any reason. Sounds like Andrea is totally clueless as to why some people are childless. Thankfully, none of my close friends have said something like that or we would have major words over it.
    *hugs*

    Reply
  4. I agree with Robin that I don’t mind people talking about their baby’s adventures at being a baby. It hurts, though, when they laugh about childless couples. But, I try to give people the benefit of the doubt. Most fertile friends, unless they have an infertile as a friend, have never stopped to think about infertility. They simply don’t have that empathy. They might be the most empathetic people in the world and might understand other things – suicide, for example – in a way that I cannot.

    😦

    I’m sorry you had to read that.

    Reply
  5. Yes, I totally agree with the sentiments about the initial status post–it really doesn’t bug me to read about things their kids are doing–teething, not sleeping, etc. I wasn’t going to think anything much of the post until I read the comments! It’s not like I can blame them for their lack of empathy…it simply never crosses their mind that many people are not “childless” by choice. I just wish it were different. @Sometimes: you make an incredible point. I’m sure I’ve said something in a status post along the way that has been offensive in ways that I honestly have no clue about. Sigh. The whole thing sucks. I think I’m going to take a long hiatus from Facebook. As Babysocks brought up, I’ve been hit with 3 pregnancy announcements, one sonogram, and this status update in the last week.

    Reply
  6. I don’t have children, so I can’t possibly understand.
    Isn’t that a bit condescending?

    For me, talking to friends about their kids is one way for me to be supportive and invested in their lives, because honestly it’s what they spend most of their time doing. And it’s fun to know what their kids are up to. But if someone dismissed me entirely, or thought that I’d have nothing valuable to contribute, or was convinced wouldn’t understand because I don’t have kids yet, I would be hurt. That’s not fair, or nice.

    Reply
  7. All I can say is, if they’re going to talk about their kids massively shitting their pants, it makes me want to shit my own pants. And talk about it on FB. But then they’d probably be like, “Oh, Katie. Must be rough to be childless and have enough time to shit your pants. Just you wait until you have kids! You won’t have time to eat, let alone digest food that turns into that shit in your pants!”

    That makes no sense, but I think it’s an honest portrayal of where my head is on this Wednesday afternoon.

    Reply
  8. Really, I don’t want to hear about grown up poop, nor do I want to hear about baby poop. My FB page is a poop free zone. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

