RSS Feed

Single Girls and Their Married Facebook Friends

Posted on

This week has been a doozy for updating the blog…it’s so busy at work, and I’ve been sort of down in the dumps lately about not getting that job. I don’t take rejection well.  Not to mention my MIL was here for a full on week, and I am just now coming down from the intensity of all of that.

Daydreaming in Progress just did a great post about Facebook status updates today. In one part of the post, she goes into the different stages of our lives that show up on our Facebook feeds. A few years ago, I was getting a ton of wedding pictures on my feed, and now, it’s all about baby announcements on my feed. It’s gotten to the point where a new baby photo, ultrasound pic, or pregnancy announcement appears on my Facebook feed at least once a day.That definitely wasn’t the case 5 years ago!

However, it got me thinking: Just like many others before me, I’ve posted some of my wedding pics on Facebook. Is this the same slap in the face to my single friends as looking at ultrasound photos feels like to me? I got hit with a dose of perspective today. Not to say that I won’t still have a twang of hurt when I see the baby pics on Facebook…but it’s interesting to think that our talk of our husbands, our marriages, our engagements, or a status update on a beautiful wedding could make a single person feel sad, too.

Food for thought.

Happy Leap Year.

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

7 responses »

  1. I have thought about this recently, too. That – especially to some older women friends who feel like they’ve missed the chance to meet Mr. Right and have a family – me posting pictures or status updates about the fun stuff hubby and I might be a slap in the face. Makes me want to NOT do that, given how sad I get when I see a baby announcement or an ultrasound picture.

    It is food for thought. Especially as we get older. If I were 22 still with friends my same age, I’d probably not even worry about it as what 22 year old really thinks life has passed him or her by?!?!

    Reply
  2. Good point lady. Never thought of it that way.

    Reply
  3. You pose an excellent point. I started a tangent thought on how one was voluntary and the other wasn’t, but couldn’t go very far with it. I guess I was never unlucky enough to be the last to get married or anything like that. However, I still need to stay the heck off of Facebook for a plethora of other reasons….

    Reply
  4. I think you’re absolutely right. I know even outside the world of FB, my friends who were the last to find their partners did feel a sense of anxiety about it. Of course it rarely occurred to the rest of us that they might feel awkward or sad.

    I know that when I look at friends, I see how full their lives are, but when I see myself, it’s hard not to notice what’s missing. Perhaps it’s the same for all of us.

    Reply
  5. Good points. I never got on board with FB, so I don’t spend any time there. I sometimes wish I went on it more often, but I don’t think it would do me much good.

    Reply
  6. babysocks2008

    Thank you for making me think about the facebook pregnancy posts in a new way! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Baby/wedding pics are the reason I left Facebook. Oh, and the what pram? what nappies? I’m selling a cot updates. It’s boring and insensitive. If your life is so great why spend half the day on fb telling people about it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

