RSS Feed

Sperm Analysis results in. Help!

Posted on

Hubs got his sperm count results back, and as I mentioned a little while back, I have been so wrapped up in my own fertility stuff, I never really looked into what “good” numbers were. Hubs called and spoke to my gyno about the results, but to be honest, my gyno is a bit lax in general when it comes to disseminating test result news (I think he gets paranoid about alarming people), and Hubs didn’t really know what questions to ask…so…

Total Count: 43 million

Motility: 74% (which gyno said was really good)

Morphology: 7% (which gyno said was low-ish, but didn’t seem too concerned about)

Now of course,  I’ve Dr. Googled “normal sperm morphology” and have been getting such a mixed bag of info, I don’t know what to believe. Some people are saying they had no problems getting pregnant with 7%, and others say that their docs are recommending IVF with ICSI and that this number is terrible???

Does anyone have anything to add to this equation? Is there anything Hubs can take or avoid taking that will help the morphology a bit? Is this even a concern?

I’m confused. I think I’ll go have an ice cream and decompress. OH WAIT. Damnit.

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

6 responses »

  1. 74% is really good! I am not sure about the other number though…

    Reply
  2. My hubs had a similar morphology but with about 7mil sperms. Which sound like a ton but apparently it’s not. We’ve done some various natural treatments and he’s now at 40 mil so he’s feeling pretty happy with himself these days.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: My 100th Post « Cease And Decyst

  4. Wow, these numbers would be a dream for us!!

    My BF has a count of 8 million, motility of 25% and morphology of 4% and we certainly need IVF ICSI.

    I’m not a professional, but I would highly, highly doubt that with numbers like these, that you’d need IVF ICSI. WHO states that 4% morphology is normal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semen_analysis).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

