RSS Feed

ICLW #2–Welcome!

Posted on

Heya all you ICLW-ers. Can’t believe it’s that time of the month again. And no, silly…I don’t mean THAT time of the month. It’s not like I ever get my period these days. It’s time for ICLW! Time for fun, frolic, and fertiliy related frivolity!

For those of you new to the site, I don’t ovulate much (or ever in the last 8 months.) This would be awesome if I was actively trying to avoid pregnancy, but since I’m TTC, it’s, how do you say, shitty?  My timeline goes something like this:

1. Formally diagnosed PCOS in July 2010, although I’ve always had irregular periods.

2. Get on on the pill for a year to “regulate” my cycles.

3. Get off the pill in Aug of 2011 in hopes of TTC with Hubs.

4. Get one “normal” period in Sept of 2011

5. Never ovulate again.

In the span of 8 months, my emotions have run the gamut between hopeful and really effing pissed. Even with PCOS, I have never gone this long without a period, and I believe that BCP may have messed royally with my system, but I can’t quite be sure. I have a doctor who is more than ready to prescribe me Clomid (just as he was more than ready to prescribe me birth control), but I am working with an acupuncturist/nutritionist (whom I have named Intuitive Health Lady) on trying to get my system detoxed and healthified before I start trying to force an egg out of my crusty ovary. I will most likely be starting Round 1 of Clomid in May.

I’m traveling right now with Hubs in Boston, staying with his mom. We’re sleeping in his childhood bedroom about 2 feet from his mother’s room (HAWT!)  in a twin bed with another twin mattress that pulls out from under the bed, so I have nicknamed us Ricky and Lucy for the time being. There is a 99.9% chance that no children will be attempted to be conceived in this room for the next week. The .1% chance depends on how much wine I drink at dinner tonight.

Happy ICLW! Looking forward to meeting all of you.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

10 responses »

  1. Sunny, I didn’t realize it had been 8 months since you ovulated. I cannot begin to imagine how frustrating that must be! Agh.

    Ah, sleeping as a couple in the childhood bed. So romantic. I say go ahead and drink a lot of wine and see what happens.

    Reply
  2. Haha! Good times! I don’t know if its morning brain, but what does ICLW stand for, I can’t figure it out? Enjoy your trip.

    Reply
  3. Have fun on your trip, even if it is not of the baby making kind. I am fascinated by all of these ICLWcatch ups, it is so interesting to see where everyone is coming from.

    Reply
  4. AHHHHHH I HATE ANOVULATION.

    And it seems like it happens the most when you WANT to ovulate. WTF? I used to go 3-5 months between periods, but once I started TTC I went a year without one (except for the one cycle I did with a bad RE).

    Also, sexy time is totally possible in the childhood bed, even if it’s a trundle bed. I have a trundle bed at my parents’ house and it has seen action, though at the time we weren’t trying to make a baby. 😉

    Reply
  5. Just because you’ve been waiting for ovulation sooo long, your ovary will choose this week of all weeks to do it 😉 At least if your body is anything like mine cause mine seems to do things like that all the time.

    ICLW #61

    Reply
  6. I have no clue what ICLW is, but I wanted to day hi anyway and let you know that I am thinking about you 🙂

    Reply
  7. Hi Jenn and Katie! ICLW stands for International Comment Leaving Week. Mel at Stirrup Queens came up with the idea as a chance for everyone in our community to visit each other’s blogs and make sure to leave comments. Check out this link for more info! http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2012/03/icomleavwe-march-2012/

    Reply
  8. Visiting the in laws…fun! Good luck with that!

    Reply
  9. Hey from ICLW:) I have PCOS as well. I do get AFs on my own but it takes like 38 days. Bleh. I hope going natural works for you!

    Reply
  10. Hi,

    I’m a first time visitor through ICLW.

    Best wishes on your journey,

    Casey

    Reply

Leave a Reply

