RSS Feed

Poop Diaries

Posted on

I’m back. Back from all of the traveling, the greasy, cheesy, yummy food, the family, the twin bed sleeping (that one I could have done without). Overall, it was a wonderful 10 days…but now  I have been hurled back into the thick of things. Some fertility related, some not.

1. My work email inbox is overflowing.

2. My laundry basket is overflowing.

3. My diet starts today.(insert small, feeble whimper here).

I landed at 10AM yesterday morning, and by 2PM I was picking up my diet plan from Intuitive Health Lady.

I won’t bore you with the long list of things I must avoid. You can take a wild guess and assume there will be no more peanut butter Oreo ice creams in my future. The basics are: no sugar of any kind including honey, no chocolate, no alcohol, no caffeine, no dairy, no eggs, no wheat or corn, no fun.

Short list of what I can eat: fruits (except oranges) veggies (except corn), quinoa, brown rice, lentils, nuts and seeds, any fish, chicken, or lamb that is organically grown, olive oil,  agave nectar or Stevia to sweeten things, and 2 quarts of water daily. There’s quite a bit more on the list of what I can eat, but in order to make these foods taste remotely edible, it will require extensive prepping and cooking on my part. The diet is not meant to be a weight loss diet, and there are lots of ways to get all of my essential fats and proteins from it, I just have to be very diligent about what I eat and how often I eat.

Intuitive Health Lady wants me to write down every food I eat, and when I eat it, along with (get this) a description of my daily bowel movements— or, as I like to call it, my poop diary. I can’t help but crack up at the Bowel Movement diary keeping. I gave myself a good laugh this morning when I fancied myself a Victorian era lady of leisure who was also keeping a food/bowel movement diary.

Dear Diary,

Today mama and I stitched a kerchief for Rebecca. I had kale with almond slices and a little bit of organic, free range chicken sprinkled ever so lightly with ground flax. My bowels had a malodorous pungency–nutty, with a hint of spoiled fruit.

I’ll be honest: It’s Day 1, I’m sipping on hot water with lemon, and I am freaking the fuck out. I know that I will get through the next 28 days, but I am worried about all of the cooking, sugar/caffeine withdrawl symptoms, etc.

More updates to come on this!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

19 responses »

  1. So, is this a cleanse or a do-it-until-pregnant diet?! It sounds a lot like the diet for the cleanse I just did. If I would have recorded notes in a poop diary it would have looked like this:

    That’s right. Nada.

    Kalyn’s Kitchen (a blog) has a ton of low GI recipes, many of which don’t utilize wheat or corn. I think the PCOS ladies out here on the blogosphere should team together to make a PCOS cookbook that is cleanse/PCOS diet friendly. Good luck!

    Reply
    • Oh, I’m totally going to check out that blog. I need more recipes. That’s such a good idea to do a “recipe pool” and find PCOS friendly stuff! So sorry to hear about the poop issues on this diet. I am anticipating a similar response for the first week or two while my body freaks out.

      This is mainly a “cleanse” diet, but I have been reading so much about how certain foods can inflame and aggravate PCOS that I will hopefully be able to continue much of the diet past the 28 days.

      Reply
      • I hear you. It is the cheese that I really struggle with. I know its terrible for PCOS, and inflammation in general, but I love cheese. LOVE cheese.

  2. Why no oranges and why no eggs?

    Good luck!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks Jes!

      Oranges/citrus (except lemons) and eggs, along with wheat and dairy are some of the most common allergenic foods. Sometimes, we’re mildly allergic to them without even realizing it. The idea is to eliminate them completely, see how you feel, and then reintroduce them slowly to see if your symptoms are aggravated.

      Reply
  3. I have celiac disease and a gob of other food allergies/sensitivities – all of which seem to make eating not so fun. But when I poop well, I rejoice. It’s the small things…

    Reply
  4. You are so brave! I don’t think I could live without sugar or honey. Well, one or the other would do.

    Will you be sharing your recipes? (I would be living off avocado, I think.)

    Reply
  5. You are brave! Good luck to you!

    Reply
  6. Wishing you luck with the whole thing! I agree about the other poop comments. I have IBS and it’s a big deal to me to have a “good one.” LOL. Just a fun tip though….if you have a smartphone, there’s an app for that! Seriously, it’s very user-friendly. It’s called PoopLog! I believe it also lets you e-mail the log to your doc if needed. I used it for a while to make sure I wasn’t abusing laxatives but now that I’m a little more regular, I stopped. Just a tip because we usually have smart phones handier than a pen and paper.

    I did a cleanse very similar to this, except I even cut out meat. I did it for a week and my bum was actually quite happy. It got things moving along very smoothly and comfortably. Hope you find it does for you too!

    Oh and I agree…I’d like to hear about any good recipes you come across too! 🙂

    Reply
  7. We are so on the same wavelength right now! I am interested to find out if my ND will put me on a similar diet on Thursday. If she doesn’t, I still might take a look at your plan and try it out. These hives have got to stop! As for the pooping…well, I’ve never had normal poops, haha. IBS is a good time. So if it gets you pooping regularly, well then, that’s something to celebrate. While you’re doing this diet, if you find a certain recipe or snack idea really working for you…please blog about it! I’ll be looking for some guidance, I am sure.

    Reply
    • IBS and I are like *this*. I’ve never had normal poops either 😦 I am so sorry about those damn hives. It certainly seems like it’s an allergic reaction to sugar…I hope that your ND will shed some light on this. I will post some recipes soon!

      Reply
  8. OMG I would have cried at that list. I find dietary changes so overwhelming that I don’t even try, except for eliminating alcohol or caffeine at different times. Perhaps if I had a live-in chef or something…:) Is your DH going by these rules too?

    Good luck girl! You’re my hero!

    Reply
  9. I fully expect weekly “Dear Poop Diary” posts during this diet. I want to know how your food is affecting things. Yes, I want to hear about your poop.

    Side note: I have a friend who was having GI issues a few years ago and had to store every single bowel movement she had for two weeks in a huge container in her fridge. Yeah.

    Reply
  10. love the poop diary entry. hilarious. that list of foods is daunting… although, thinking of all the processed floury sugary crap i eat every day makes me want to try something like that. looking forward to following you through this. i hardly cook EVER, so i am interested to see how this is done!

    Reply
    • Hi mare! I am a huge offender when it comes to eating sugary processed food…and I’m usually incredibly busy, so I don’t cook too much. I will be posting every day on the progress!

      Reply
  11. Pingback: Elimination (of fun) Diet Day 4 « Cease And Decyst

  12. Pingback: My 100th Post « Cease And Decyst

  13. Pingback: Elimination Diet Redux « Cease And Decyst

Leave a Reply

