RSS Feed

So about this whole diet thing…

Posted on

Yesterday sucked balls.

Not only was I tired and grumpy and jet lagged and dragging my feet to go to work, I was completely ill prepared for this diet, craving caffeine and sugar.

Warning to anyone who wants to attempt this diet: The level of preparation involved with keeping up with a restrictive diet is massive. I need to spend this weekend making meals so I am not gnawing my own arm off during the work week.I managed to stick with “the plan” yesterday, only to realize that I didn’t have much of a plan in place. This needs to change.

We had out of town production partners in the office yesterday. This meant an all day meeting that was catered. During our 8 hour production meeting delicious sandwiches, chips, muffins, and cookies were served.Β  I ate fruit salad and dried apples that I brought. I forgot to bring any “diet approved” salad dressing, so I literally ate a green bell pepper whole with nothing on it (mainly because I was so hungry). I also ate a banana, which was surprisingly delicious, and drank about 5 cups of tea.

Then, because this diet can bite me, we took our partners out to a really delicious restaurant for dinner where everyone ordered beer, martinis, wine, gourmet burgers and ribs , and I ordered water and the plain halibut with lima beans and peas (I couldn’t do the creamy yukon potato risotto that came with it. Grrr). I’m pretty sure the halibut was cooked in a bit of butter which is a “technical” no no, but at that point, I didn’t give a shit.

I got a lot of comments yesterday about posting recipes, so I think that I will post one a day (if I can).

Today, I am making “Rice and Shine” for breakfast. It’s like Cream of Wheat, but made with quinoa and brown rice.

1. Boil 1 cup of almond milk

2. Add 1/4 cup of Rice and Shine

3. Simmer 3-4 minutes until thick.

4. Sprinkle some cinnamon on top with some agave syrup to sweeten.

5. Smile and pretend this tastes just as good as fluffy waffles with strawberries and whipped cream.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

15 responses »

  1. Omg that sucks! I totally would not have made it- good for you!!! And thanks for the recipe. I’m excited to start cooking more PCOS-friendly.

    Reply
  2. Oh, I hope that you start feeling better from the diet soon. Then maybe it will be easier to get behind. Good luck making it through another day!

    Reply
  3. Restrictive diets are awful. The only thing that saves me is that I HAVE to eat restrictively because otherwise I stop going to the bathroom, end up bedridden because my legs stop working, or with a week-long migraine. Those are just some side effects of gluten and dairy and soy, etc, and not convenient for being a human. I really feel for people who don’t have food allergies and who still have to go restrictive for whatever reason. It’s so hard. And you are right; having a plan is crucial. Hoping it gets easier for you and it makes you feel so good you don’t mind it so much.

    Reply
  4. You sound like me when I tried to do Phase 1 of the South Beach diet. After two days I was so irritable and grouchy and hungry and sugar crashing every few minutes that I was just a hot mess. And I almost passed out in yoga. So I broke my diet, reassessed, and found something less restrictive. You’re right – doing something that strict requires a LOT of pre-planning and pre-cooking. If it’s not reasonable for you to be this strict, can you be less strict and ease into it?

    Reply
    • Yes, I’m a total bitch on wheels right now. My head feels fuzzy. I know it’s the lack of caffeine and sugar 😦 I want to see if I can power through the next two days, and then focus on a plan over the weekend. I keep saying I’m going to stick to a diet, and then I slip up, so I really want to give it a good try this time. I’ll find things to eat today and tomorrow, and then I’ll be able to get to the supermarket on Friday.

      Reply
  5. Geez, that really sounds bad!

    You know what makes diets easier? A partner! Think your DH will join you ? πŸ˜‰

    Good luck for tomorrow.

    Reply
    • Hahaha!!! My DH thinks I’m nuts! He’s a very healthy eater as it is, and doesn’t have any allergies or anything, so I can say with 99.9% certainty he won’t be coming along for the ride πŸ™‚ He did offer to pick up anything I wanted at the store today, so I may take him up on this offer!

      Reply
  6. Your dedication is admirable. And you are awesome. And you can do anything for 28 days.

    Reply
  7. Oh god. Diets are the worst. I feel like I have been on one thing or another for 10 years. This diet seems like the one MY acupuncturist wanted me to be on for my PCOS. She was like – no cold foods or drinks, no dairy, no sugar…and I was like…WHAT?

    I am proud of you for this though. I hope you get something from it because I remember doing a low carb diet a couple years ago and lost like 2 pounds. They told me I would loose a ton the first month!

    Good luck and good for you for keeping up the humor about it. Have fun with your poop diary.

    Reply
    • I’ve heard of the “no cold foods” thing! I would go absolutely nuts if I had to add THAT into the mix. Thanks for the encouragement πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. you made a huge, admirable effort! i am checking out the diet now… i have PCOS too and am really interested in trying to manage it, and my weight, by changing my diet. loved the recipe too πŸ˜‰ especially the smile and pretend part.

    Reply
    • The thing I’m doing is “technically” called the Elimination Diet, and it’s for 28 days. After 28 days the goal is to slowly add foods back into your life, but my hope is that I feel so much better that I don’t want to eat like crap anymore!

      Reply
  9. Oh, that sounds like it’s going to suck. But, if you can add things back in slowly, maybe it won’t be so bad. Maybe the first week is the worst? Think about how much you will enjoy simple things like oranges after this.

    Good luck. I look forward to hearing how the diet and the poop diary go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

