RSS Feed

Elimination (of fun) Diet Day 4

Posted on

It’s been a long four days. Long. Four. Days. Not only was my manic alcoholic boss here from Toronto this entire week, I had wall to wall meetings, jet lag from traveling, and sugar, caffeine, and carb withdrawl. I was also surrounded by cookies, pizza, and M&M’s at all times.

I am certain I was a blast to be married to.

Positives:

1. I made it through the week without strangling my boss and/or drinking with her (she is the definition of “misery loves company”).

2. I stuck to the diet–mostly by eating hourly and subsisting on water, fruit, salads, almonds, avocados, and fish. I did treat myself to lamb one night.Goal for next week is to eat more complex dishes that I make over the weekend and save as leftovers.

3. Caffeine withdrawl headache is finally abating.

4. My poop diary has been written 3 out of the 4 days! No constipation except on Day 1. Things are rocking, things are rolling. Movin’ and a groovin’. They have been mostly standard turds. I had one day of lighter/yellow-tinged poop which I contribute to A)too many B vitamins B) too many yams C) liver failure.

I haven’t said this in a while, but this weekend, I’m looking forward to COOKING! No more eating of whole avocados and bell peppers for sustenance. I must learn the ways of the eggless omelet and sugarless sugar cookies. I’m already strategizing on ways to make my favorite dishes gluten, dairy, egg, and sugar free. I think I will try my banana bread and pumpkin pie. I’m also planning on making lamb stew. Frickin love lamb!!!!

Anyone have any favorite recipes I can attempt to put an Elimination Diet spin on?

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

12 responses »

  1. One of my favorite dishes is Haggis, neeps and tatties, I think that could be a hard one to spin.

    Reply
  2. What’s in an eggless omlette?

    Reply
  3. When I was working I liked to make casseroles on the weekend and then bake them throughout the week. Plus, I love casseroles. However, casseroles are always so carby and filled with dairy. That’s probably why they are so delicious. If you had ideas for low GI casseroles that aren’t filled with cheese, please share!

    Reply
  4. I am a fan of tofu scrambles. Particularly mushroom, carrot & onion. Dice an onion and cook it for five minutes in a wok. Cut carrots into matchsticks and add them and cook for another 5 to 8 minutes. Throw in the mushrooms (also diced) for another five minutes. Add diced tofu and soy sauce for another five minutes and yum!

    Reply
  5. Ack! You sound like how I was when I tried an elimination diet for endo. I was not a happy camper. I cooked a lot of Indian dishes then, stuff with tomatoes and curry and chickpeas and veggies. I also started cooking quinoa–not sure if you can have that. Good luck and hope you can find some yummy things to cook this weekend!

    Reply
    • I can have quinoa. I’m looking into a recipe that involves that right now 🙂

      Reply
      • we have quinoa with salmon in a chili sauce. After the quinoa is cooked you fry it off with seeds and pine nuts, olive oil and lemon juice then you put in some kale, fry a bit more and you serve it with baked fish and a sweet chili sauce. I guess it would be good with a parsley sauce as well.

  6. I saw an accupuncturist last summer and she put me on something similar – all alkaline foods. My morning shake was gross (garlic, ginger, celery, carrot, apple, parsley, aloe and a touch of mint) but otherwise I figured out how to improvise… There is a magazine on zinio in the iPad called clean eating where I found some recipes and also I could modify most recipes in everyday food (Martha Stewart) which I found in zinio as well. I did buy brown rice pasta so I could make pasta dishes. I make quinoa with strawberries, mango, blueberries, mint, with a lemon and olive oil dressing and it was pretty good. I was diagnosed w endo years ago and am 6 weeks pregnant now (IUI) so hoping the same for you.

    Reply
    • Ugh. That shake sounds gross! BUT–if it works, it works! Thanks for the quinoa recipe! I’m going to try it. And congrats on the BFP. I am crossing my fingers that I can get one this year…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

