RSS Feed

Food

Posted on

It’s the other four letter “f” word at this point.

Forgive me if this blog is turning into some sort of crazy food rant… it’s just that I’ve been thinking about what, when, where, and how I’m going to eat for 6 days now….my brain is fritzing.  Food has become this all-consuming time suck, and I’m not enjoying it, to be quite honest. If I’m not reading labels, cooking some nasty gluten free/egg free/ dairy free bread, chugging water, chugging the horrible Green Drink, or taking vitamins, I can generally be found at restaurants with friends sullenly picking at a bland salad while others are enjoying food, drinks, and deserts.

This diet is not good for anyone who wants a life outside of obsessing on food.

This week I went out to dinner three times (these dinners were planned well in advance of me knowing I was going to diet, and I couldn’t get out of them) and it was painful. To cap off the glorious weekend, Hubs and I went to a wedding last night where I had to bring a bag of trail mix with me so I could have something to eat. The wedding was rained out, and we all had to pile inside a tiny cramped room with no dance floor, where all there was to do was drink and small talk with many people I didn’t know. Let me tell you, I pounded those waters. And I was BORED OUT OF MY FREAKING MIND.

But I’m sticking to this. I need to see if it works…I need to see if it will all be worth it in the end…wait a minute. What is “the end”. How do I know if this worked???!! Argh!!!

A few things that are working:

1. I have not weighed myself since Tuesday, but my pants are already fitting better.

2. I am starting to crave water over any other beverage, which I think is a good thing.

3. The gross white coating that was all over my tongue for so long (and which, in Chinese Medicine is indicative of congestion, and weak spleen) has almost all cleared up. My tongue was also very swollen (which is indicative of teeth marks on the side of your tongue). This indicates liver taxation/toxicity. This morning, the teeth marks which have been there for months were almost entirely gone.

4. The hemorrhoid that has plagued me for almost 10 years is all but disappeared.

5. My face is the softest and clearest it’s been in a long time.

6. I don’t feel sharp hunger pains anymore, as I’m better able to manage what foods my body needs and when.

7. Salads are actually starting to taste good (amazing how that happens when there’s nothing else to freaking eat.)

Tomorrow I see Intuitive Health Lady for my Week One Check In/Acupuncture session. We’ll see what she says. Until then, I’m making black beans and yellow rice today and studying for a Lifespan Psychology midterm.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

7 responses »

  1. So, tell me all of your no-no’s. I’ve been eating Paleo for years now and have tons of recipes for what most would consider a restrictive diet. It’s the NO EGGS thing that I’ll struggle with to help but I’m sure I have something egg free in my arsenal.

    no eggs, no dairy, no gluten…what else?

    Reply
    • Yes, the NO EGGS thing is killing me. No eggs, no gluten, no wheat, no dairy, no refined sugars, no soy, no butter, no corn, no peanuts.

      Any recipes you have would be SO HELPFUL. I had no idea you’ve been paleo for years! How do you feel since you made the switch?

      Reply
      • I LOVE paleo. Sometimes it’s a big pain in my ass, especially when eating out, in fact I kind of gave up on it while eating out, but I cook 5 nights out of 7 and we have leftovers for lunch, so the vast majority of our diet is paleo. My body likes me better when I’m not eating carbs and my husband has no heartburn and doesn’t snore when he’s not eating carbs. SO much better =)

        what’s your email? I’ll send you some recipes!

  2. Wow! This is so helpful. Thanks Jes! My email is ceaseanddecystblog@gmail.com THANK YOU!!!

    Reply
  3. I am so right there with you. The only difference between us is I haven’t grown the balls necessary to actually do this right, like you are doing. And my body is punishing me for it. How do you do it without caving?? I plan to basically do the exact thing you are doing. Good luck to you!

    Reply
    • Hang in there…and go for it! After five days of feeling pretty shitty, today is finally getting a bit easier. But admittedly, I still crave sugar and carbs. I would LOVE a slice of bread right now.

      I have been able to keep this up because I have started and failed at this so many times, I got sick of saying I would do it, and then caving. It’s a matter of pride at this point! I also am having weekly meetings with Intuitive Health Lady, and she is no nonsense when it comes to this, so she has me living in fear 🙂 I have to say, the blog has been a really good way to keep me accountable as well. Good luck with your diet stuff! Keep the log updates coming!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

