RSS Feed

Hunger Games. Literally and Figuratively

Posted on

Hubs and I went to see Hunger Games last night.

Meh.

As a fan of the book, I just felt that the movie was lacking in so many areas. The characters weren’t well developed, the quick cuts and shaky camera was distracting to a point where I couldn’t even focus on a shot, and moments I felt were so beautifully complex and rich in the book fell flat on screen…I could go on, but I’m hungry.

Speaking of which, I feel like the Katniss of real life because I have kicked my hunger to the CURB over the last 2 days. After a failed attempt at morning muffins that left me sobbing in a bathtub cursing life, I came across a recipe for blueberry muffins online. Holy shit. These bad boys are amazing. No egg, no dairy, no gluten, no refined sugar. I never thought I could get so excited about almond flour.

I have to give Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom credit for guiding me out of the muffin-less lack of carb rage I was in a few days ago. Her Knee Slappin Good Blueberry Muffins produced enough knee slappage to conduct a veritable ho down in my kitchen last night.I have lost my camera so I couldn’t take any pics of the masterpiece, unfortunately. Hubs rated them as: “Better than expected.” but as one who has not tasted anything close to bread or muffin for almost 2 weeks, I rate them “Divine”.

This is really not meant to be turning into a food blog, but this diet is kind of forcing me to think and plan for every single meal at all times.

Positives:

I got through whatever crazed detox symptoms were going on a few days ago. I feel completely energized, and I have been sleeping like a log.

I am learning to be mindful of the food I am taking into my body. It’s strange to say, but I have never done this before. I always just sort of ate stuff and forgot about it. By putting care and time into each meal, it is making me connect the dots between what I eat and how I feel.

I am craving water now. Never happened to me before. I went from barely drinking 2 glasses of H2o a day, to drinking 2 quarts per day. It’s amazing to actually want water.

 

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

8 responses »

  1. Glad to hear you made it through that rough bit at the beginning!!! Also, how awesome is almond flour?! Love it!

    Reply
    • Almond flour is frickin amazing. You know what else is amazing? YOU!!! I just got all of the recipes. I am in complete bliss over here. I tried to send you a thank you email, but it keeps bouncing back from your email address?? I hope you see this reply! Seriously girl, you rock. I will be making these recipes in the next few days.

      Reply
  2. Oh and I forgot what I was originally going to write when you started writing about almond flour šŸ˜‰

    I felt the same about the Hunger Games!!! LOVED the book and was so excited going into the movie because everyone said it was SO good, but I came out kind of….meh. It was good but it was nothing like say Harry Potter where I could just watch it over and over and over again.

    Reply
  3. Chia eggs! Where did you find the chia seeds? A Whole Foods-like store?

    Reply
    • For the recipe, you can use chia seeds or flax seeds, finely ground. Both are available at Whole Foods but flax is sometimes easier to find. I actually used ground flax in my muffins, vs the chia seeds. Tastes great, and no need for eggs! (Eggs taste better, but I’ll take what I can get at this point šŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. I am so happy for you now that you have made it past the crazy food withdrawal symptoms! I wish I was better about drinking water. Since my husband is military he could probably drinks gallons a day, but I can barely finish my water bottle some days.

    Reply
  5. I just read through your last few posts to catch up so I can start following you. Sorry it took me a few days since you posted on my blog. First, your blog is hilarious! It is so fun to read from funny women! Second, I am so proud of you for being so vigilant about this diet. I know that is weird to say bc I don’t even know you, but I think it’s really great that you are trying some dietary and natural things first. It totally worked for me. I committed to trying natural stuff for 6 months at which point I thought I would reevaluate. Before i started with my ND, I was having 50-60 day cycles. Within a month, I was down to 30-day cycles and within 5 mos I was preggers. Even with clomid, it’s still hit or miss whether you’ll actually conceive, so if natural treatments regulate your cycle, they are just as good. Without side effects. It really sucks that your doc put you on BC. I know it doesn’t do any good to look back, but it pisses me off that they are such drug pushers and that he/she thought that was an appropriate way to regulate your cycle. There are so many better, less invasive, healthier things to try. I am convinced that there is a lot unknown about BC. Anyway, I hope this diet works for you! I am cheering you on and impressed by your commitment!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for the comment, Elle! It’s great to hear from someone who has had good results from a diet switch. I know it won’t be overnight, but I feel really positive about the health benefits I’m getting from this diet thing. Out of sheer impatience, I may go on Clomid in May, but I will stick to some form of this Elimination Diet moving forward. Looking forward to following your blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

