RSS Feed

Day 14–Maybe I’m actually healing

Posted on

I have hit the 2 week mark on this diet of mine. Hard to believe that last week around this time I was sobbing in a bath tub wishing death to soggy muffins. Ah, gotta love carb withdrawl rage.

I’d like to offer up some words of encouragement to anyone attempting to attempt this diet, contemplating to attempt to attempt this diet, or to those who are simply amused that I am willingly putting myself through this shit: it gets better. I can’t believe I just wrote that.

After two weeks, I have begun to see the “other side”! I have not been doing this for weight loss, but I have gone from 131lbs to 128lbs which isn’t a huge difference, but enough to make my jeans feel better.

My timeline has gone something like this:

Days 1-4:

Miserable as fuck. Not going to lie. Detox symptoms, cravings, headaches, mood swings, you name it. Don’t be dumb like me and start this diet on the same day you come back from a 10 day vacation and have all day meetings with carb laden catered meals.

Days 5-6:

Feeling better (sort of). Intense withdrawl symptoms seem to have abated. Still gaseous, bloated, and cranky. Hubs gives me a slow sideways glance every time I walk in the room and says, “I’m scared of you.” Ah, young love.

Days 6-8:

Nope. Not in the clear yet. Withdrawl, cravings, and mass hysteria over poorly cooked muffins comes back with a vengeance. The night sweats were the worst.

Days 9-14:

The calm after the storm. I have not felt shitty for almost a full week! No gas, no stomach issues, nothing! Hemorrhoids are GONE. Not that I’m out of woods yet, but these stats look promising. I ate a yam today for breakfast, and get this: I actually enjoyed it. I have TONS of energy. What the hell? The key for me has been lots of protein throughout the day, which keeps me away from hunger rages. That, and I’ve been cooking up a storm. Enough to make sure I have left over meals for work days.

The real test will be the next couple of weeks. I would like to start initiating some exercise back into my life…we’ll see how that goes. I miss running. Hard to believe I once ran three marathons in the span of 2 years, and now I wheeze on a slow trot around my block.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

7 responses »

  1. Awesome! Congrats!!! Its wonderful to know you’re feeling better on this diet and are thinking about picking up running again. Thanks for the inspiration to keep going on my diet! You rock!

    Reply
  2. Congrats on making it through to the other side! I’m actually amazed at all the changes you’ve listed. You’re tempting me to take something like this on! Thanks for sharing this part of your story.

    Reply
  3. Yay for success! The only thing I hate about when diets make you feel good is how it reminds me of that whole analogy you hear in middle school health class about how “your body is a machine and you must feed it the proper fuel!” It’s so annoyingly true. Though I’m not eating as healthy as you, I have felt immensely better even after just eliminating caffeine. It was hard at first but it truly did wonders for me. I’m glad you’re finally seeing great results with this!

    Reply
  4. Good for you!! You rock. I am having a sweet potato for breakfast tomorrow myself. Eggs are getting old quickly. What are your other go-to breakfasts? I could definitely use some ideas!

    Reply
    • Unfortunately, since I can’t eat eggs on the diet, I don’t have a ton of breakfast options. It’s usually really odd combos like fruit with a piece of chicken or plain canned tuna fish to keep me full. (I don’t do the tuna more than once a week due to mercury stuff). I’ve also been making Rice and Shine which you can find at Whole Foods. I get the brown rice and quinoa variety. It takes all of 5 mins to prepare and sort of tastes like Cream of Wheat. I put agave and cinnamon in it and it’s pretty good!

      Reply
  5. I’m so glad you’re over the hump and are feeling better about this! And good riddance, hemmorroid!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

