RSS Feed

What’s next?

Posted on

Well, after heading pleasantly into the weekend with an official CD 1, I am now dragging my feet back to work today. I feel like this weekend was the classic: too much to do, too little time, where-the-hell-did my-weekend-go? kind of weekend.

Since the period I got was anovulatory, the bleeding has mostly been thick and dark brown–not my “classic” flow, but at this point, I’m not being picky. Although I only had one  day of “real” blood I’m not going to get down on myself about that.

I keep having to remind myself…baby steps.

As I wind my way through the maze that is infertility, I realize that it can take months and months of bad news, no progress, and frustration to hit on just one rainbow. But when that rainbow finally hits, it’s a really good feeling. The shit eating grin on my face on Friday as I wiped blood from my vag and held the tissue paper in the air for no one but me to see is living proof that I hit a small but important “rainbow” in this whole TTC mess.  It gave me some hope, dammnit.

I know that getting a random, non ovulatory bleed wouldn’t be something that someone would normally write home about, but for me, it provided a sliver of hope that somehow, things might turn out all right. It signified to me that maybe somewhere in all of the trillions of cells and molecules of my body, something is waking up. Something is responding. Something is thanking me for eliminating some substances that were making my body pissed off.

Next step: How to get my ovaries to start ovulating again.

Unfortunately for me and my relationship with bread, alcohol, and sugar, I think the answer lies in me sticking to this diet a bit longer.

Never. NEVER. in a million years would I EVER think I would willingly stay on a diet like this. But the truth is: I feel so freaking good physically right now. I feel like my body is just getting warmed up, and I can’t just go back to eating the way I had been pre-diet. I probably won’t be AS strict, but I am definitely going to keep up the diet 90% for the coming months and add in exercise. We’ll see what happens. I’m looking forward to more good surprises.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

4 responses »

  1. I’m reading a PCOS diet book by a nutritionist right now. She recommends the 80/20 rule – sticking to the diet 80% of the time. (She recommends 90/10 for those that want to be stricter with the diet.) I love that perspective. It gives me something to look forward to, and it allows me to eat the things I love every once and a while. Congrats on the forward momentum. Good stuff!!

    Reply
  2. Hey Sunny, this is so great! Sorry I am a little behind on blog reading. Glad you are starting fresh with a new cycle. I have also heard 80/20 and 90/10, but I’ve heard that gluten is the exception. FWIW, I’ve heard that there is no “cheating” when it comes to gluten if you truly have a sensitivity. It sounds like your Intuitive Health Lady is pretty awesome and knows her stuff. You might check in with her to see what she says about 90/10 and/or which parts of the diet are absolutely essential. Although getting your period is an awesome step in the right direction, the goal is ovulation and then pregnancy, so keep up the good work and hopefully you will ovulate soon. I remember feeling the exact same way–that I never in a million years would have seen myself following a diet like I was, but I have surprised myself over and over through the last few years, and I have learned to never say never. Also, have you heard of the homeopathics for menstruation? There are four of them, and you take a different one for each week of the cycle. I remember one was called folliculinum and another was luteinum. I think the others were some with ov in the title and then hypophosinum–something like that. Ask IHL.
    Also, I read one of your older posts about how long to keep this up, and I will just share what I did. I told myself I would give natural remedies 6 months before reexamining. Natural remedies do not usually work as quickly as medication and procedures, so I thought that was a reasonable amount of time to work with a natural practitioner and follow her advice strictly. I decided ahead of time that if I was ovulating regularly by 6 months but still wasn’t pregnant, I would get my tubes checked to make sure they were open and then continue for a few more months. Even with Clomid or IUI, there is still a level of chance involved. I think the average for achieving pregnancy is 5 cycles, and even up to 12 is normal. However, if I still wasn’t ovulating after 6 months of working with the ND, and I felt like I had exhausted all of my alternative options, I was prepared to try Clomid/Western medicine.
    Anyway, I’m so glad to hear this progress and hope you will continue to see good things!

    Reply
    • I need to go back and re-read all of your entries, but how did it all work out for you? Did you do the natural route, and then start ovulating within the 6 month window? I think you did, but I can’t be sure. Thank you for sharing all of this great info!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

