RSS Feed

Goal!!!!

Posted on

As of yesterday, I reached Day 28 of my Elimination Diet.

Today I have a Mexican soccer announcer in my head at all times.

I didn’t expect trumpets to sound or anything, but damn, I feel proud! I’m usually really bad about sticking with things.  It’s not an attractive trait, but about 75% of the time, I will set a goal for myself and slowly fizzle out from it.

Today? I got called up on stage to accept my award for completing a crazy person diet.

I’d like to thank all of my fans and blog supporters who coached me through some really tough times the last 4 weeks, and Intuitive Health Lady for keeping me motivated!

And thank you, Dawson, for making me laugh at you this morning as I googled “crying oscar speech”.

Here’s the thing: I’ve made a complete 180 from where I was at the start. I don’t think I want to stop the diet! I keep toying with the idea of stopping, but I feel so great I don’t want to loose the feeling. It’s hard to explain….but the diet makes me feel skinny on the inside. My intestines feel healthy again! I’m peeing clear! And don’t even get me started on getting my period. Hell freakin YEAH.

So, now what?

Well, first up: I’m not going back to dairy. All the cheese, milk and eggs I was basing my diet around are bye bye. Although I don’t know for certain what was causing my IBS symptoms, I have a very strong feeling that it was the dairy. Second up: I don’t want to get so neurotic about what I’m eating that I turn into one of “those people” at restaurants. If I get a fleck of goat cheese in my salad, I am not going to scrunch my nose and send it back to the kitchen. When I go out to dinner, I will eat very sensibly, but I’m not worrying if they cook the fish in butter or olive oil, or whatever.

As for the sugar, alcohol, caffeine, and bread products, I think I’m going to keep them eliminated about 90% of the time.

Never. I repeat. Never. did I think I would be saying these things.

So, while I won’t be boring you further with stories from the front lines of my insane eating habits, just know that I am sticking to the program, taking my Green Drink of Terror, and chugging my liquid iron and B vitamins like a good little infertile.

This weekend I had enough energy to go on my 8 mile hike up the coastal area of Pacific Palisades. 4 miles straight up hill, but man, was it a gorgeous view at the top.

 

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

11 responses »

  1. Way to go! I am super impressed. You’ve practiced tons of self control. You deserve a big pat on the back. Hooray!

    Reply
  2. Hey, Congrats!!

    I recognise the “not sticking with things” so I no this must’ve been tough. But….YOU DID IT GAL!!

    Reply
  3. Hurrah! You should be so proud. I am so impressed with your will power and stick-to-it-ness!

    I am also amazed at what a difference the diet made. Thanks for sharing this part of your journey.

    Reply
  4. Woohoo!!!!!! Awesome!!!!!

    Reply
  5. 28 days! You are amazing!

    Reply
  6. Wow! You are amazing! What a great accomplishment! Here from ICLW and wishing you all the best! And the hike, that’s incredible! What a view!

    Reply
  7. That is incredible and a true testament of will power and determination! It seems like alcohol, sugar, dairy, caffeine and bread products are EVERYWHERE. Avoiding all of them for a month is downright amazing. You’re an inspiration!

    Reply
  8. That is awesome!! Good for you!!

    Reply
  9. I am so impressed with your willpower! The rational part of me would love to try eliminating at least a few things from my diet but I doubt I have the willpower you do!

    Reply
  10. Congrats that’s amazing! Good luck keeping it up!

    Reply
  11. Congrats on finishing up your diet! I could never imagine giving up dairy… I just love it so much!! And I love the pictures, especially the one of Dawson :).

    Best of luck as you maintain these changes!

    ICLW #95

    Reply

Leave a Reply

