RSS Feed

Evil Matzo Ball

Posted on

Wow! I had no idea when I was writing my dentist post that so many of you would have such similar situations! Thanks for all of your comments on that one. As it turned out, going to the dentist did not make me want to extract my own teeth. First up: I have the world’s best hygienist. Seriously, this woman is amazing. She did remember that I was “trying” the last time I came in, but I told her I wasn’t pregnant this time around, and that Hubs and I were experiencing some “challenges” in that area. Screw it. I’m not pretending with anyone anymore. She gave my shoulder a reassuring squeeze, and simply said, “I’m so sorry to hear that, but I’m sure you’re looking into all of the things you can do to help you for that. You’re going to be fine.” I said, “Thanks.” And then we moved right along to the X Rays. The dentist didn’t ask about any of the pregnancy stuff when he came in to do my exam. It was awesome! Her response was a welcome departure from the puzzled looks, or free advice I usually get thrown when I mention that we’re having difficulties getting pregnant.

Please, God, don’t let me have the same conversation with her at my next checkup.

On other fronts, I have a sneaking suspicion that my cycle is going to be a little bitch again. CD 18 and my temp is still very low. Cervical mucus is sticky–you know–the kind that actually kills sperm? I had a hopeful day of really wet CM on CD 13, and some ovary pain on my left side, but I have a feeling whatever follicle was attempting to ripen and mature is just chilling now on my ovary as a cyst.

I’m feeling really defeated today.

I departed slightly from the elimination diet and reintroduced a matzo ball into my world a couple of days ago. That night I woke up with intestinal pain, gas and bloating, and IBS issues. It also appears as though I now have a couple of mild yeast infection symptoms. So yeah. There is clearly something up with wheat.

I’m just getting tired of it all…I got so excited to see some sort of flow a couple of weeks ago, but if I’m not even ovulating, what the hell is the point? I’ve eaten more fruits and vegetables this month than I have in a year. I’ve given up all forms of caffeine and alcohol. I don’t even eat sugar anymore. My reaction to the f-ing matzo ball now has me paranoid to deviate at all from the elimination diet…

Ugh.

Is it Friday yet?

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

9 responses »

  1. Sorry you encountered the evil matzah ball. They slip in every once in a while, disguised as nice and pleasant matzah balls. Haha. But seriously, well, maybe you can’t eat wheat 😦 😦 Have you tried introducing anything else that was “forbidden” and seeing what your reaction to it was?

    Reply
    • I tried a muffin made with oats and rye flour, and that seemed to agree with me. The muffin was sweetened with grape juice instead of sugar, and actually tasted amazing.

      Reply
  2. I’ve considered trying a gluten free diet. I’ve always had issues with IBS/Crohn’s.

    I think I’m CD25 today and still unsure what my body’s doing. =/ And you keep reminding me that i need to go to the dentist! =) I guess I’ve put it off long enough!

    Reply
  3. No matzoh?????? That is not a world I want to live in 🙂 Have you checked out the website http://www.elanaspantry.com/ ? She’s got some pretty amazing GF recipes to check out. Also? Love your hygenist. That is such the perfect thing to say!

    Reply
  4. I figured out I was really sensitive to gluten after doing an elimination diet where I stopped eating all grains for a year and a half and then slowly adding gluten free grains back into my diet. I was extremely sensitive to gluten – even a crumb of croutons on my salad would make me react. The weird thing was that when I was pregnant I tried eating gluten and did not have a problem. During the entire time I was pregnant and for a few weeks after I was able to eat as much gluten as I wanted to without a problem. Now I can still eat it, but if I have too much I get sick. No idea how this happened, but I am really happy to be able to eat it sometimes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

