RSS Feed

Who are these people?

Posted on

I got a call from my bank yesterday asking me if I had made a $350 purchase at Best Buy in Bridgewater, NJ. Ummm…no? They then proceeded to list off about 5 or 6 more charges totaling close to $2,000 that Mr. or Mrs. “Bridgewater” decided they were going to use my card number for. Fortunately, my bank had already flagged the Best Buy purchase, and declined all of the rest of the charges.

Not only does it creep me out that someone has all of my card info, and was trying to buy stuff with my card, it brings up a larger question:

Who ARE these people?

Do they sleep well at night knowing this is what their lives have become? Stealing other people’s shit, and taking what isn’t theirs? I drag my ass every day to work to earn that money so they can spend it on their Best Buy shit??

Sorry, I have never had this happen to me, and it feels really violating.

After coming off of that phone call, I went to my night class. I take class at a community college in a somewhat seedy area near my office. There are lots of young moms who go to the classes and bring their kids along because they can’t afford sitters. One such mom in particular was waiting in an area by the elevators with her cute little three year old girl who was playing on some steps by the elevator. As I walked by, the little girl jumped off one step, fell, and hit her head pretty hard.

I gasped, and went to see if she was ok. Her mother yanks her off the ground by jerking her arm and says,”I told your ass that would happen. Stop crying, little baby.”

I didn’t know what to say…the woman definitely looked like she would kick my ass if I told her what I thought of her parenting, or how lucky she gets to actually BE a mom, so I got on the elevator, and the doors closed on the sound of the little girl’s hysterical crying, and the mom berating her.

Who ARE these people?

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

6 responses »

  1. pcosbarrenness

    That same thing just happened to us! Someone used our debit card number for about $1,0000 purchase at a Walmart in Kentucky, and then another smaller purchase that same day at a gas station in Indiana. We were baffled too since we both had our cards in our possession so somehow the people created a counterfeit card that worked. So scary, but very glad the bank caught it right away and reimbursed us for it.

    Reply
  2. Wow, I’m so sorry your card # was stolen. That happened to me a couple of years ago, and I think they took it from an internet purchase I made. I’m wary of doing internet business with anyone unless it’s Amazon or another big company.

    I saw a little girl, probably about 18 months, sitting in a hot car with her mom yesterday. The girl was swinging from the handles (for dry-cleaning or whatever) above one of the doors and was way too young and unsteady to be doing that. The mom was indifferent. I don’t get it.

    Reply
  3. I know? Who are they? It is so alien to me, this behavior. What has gone wrong in the world that makes people like that? It is so sad.

    Reply
  4. I have parents like that bringing their kids to therapy, and I have a hard time with it, too. I just don’t get it.

    Reply
  5. Seriously, I feel like I ask myself that question constantly. People are just awful sometimes. I once saw a woman shake her toddler on a bus and I froze. I should have done something but I just didn’t know what to do. So sorry about your card.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

