RSS Feed

Input Needed: What is your favorite story from history?

Posted on

Hi party peeps, I have a question totally unrelated to fertility or TTC for you. I am interested in hearing what your favorite stories/eras/ events from history are. They could be bible stories, really obscure stories you’ve heard about a love triangle between Napoleon, Josephine, and the butler, a writer/artist/musician/physician you know about, major historical battles, murder, intrigue, some strange law enacted in a state in the 1800s that no one knows about…ANYTHING. I’m interested.

In other news, because God loves taunting me, a very lovely colleague of mine who I’m friends with at work came into my office yesterday and let me know that the “food poisoning” she had last week was a bout of “surprise pregnancy”. She’s 8 weeks along, and “thrilled”. After hugging her, and feeling really genuinely happy for her, she asked me if Hubs and I were going to start trying soon. I smiled, looked down at my desk, and started bawling about my ovaries. Fortunately she is an extremely decent human being, and did not get freaked out and run out of my office. She was actually quite sweet about it, and not awkward at all, although she couldn’t quite grasp what I meant when I told her that I had only had one anovulatory “period” in 9 months. At one point, I even used the complicated abbreviation, “IVF”, and she had no clue what I was talking about. I’d do anything for a toke off her pipe of naivete.

I also have another yeast infection since I’ve dared to stray from my diet of food that tastes like cardboard.

Will this shit never end.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

16 responses »

  1. A couple Things: first of all, I am very interested in the Holocaust and the Titanic haha..apparently I’m morbid. Secondly…i am sorry about your yeast infection, but I have a question for you. I just had one last week, the second in the last few months. Has a doctor confirmed the food/yeast infection connection? If so..what exactly is their advice? I think my body does very similar things to yours.

    Reply
    • Thanks for your history recs! On the yeast front: I have never had a food/yeast infection connection officially confirmed by a doc, but I will say with 99% certainty that for my body, at least, there is one. There have been links to PCOS and candida as well: yeast thrive in an acidic environment (white breads, sugars, alcohol, and meat can create body acidity). Ovarian cysts also are produced in an acidic environment. The key (from what I’ve read) to battling yeast is twofold: #1: Diet: avoid all foods that increase body acidity and cause the yeast to thrive. #2: Diflucan. Even “natural” websites stress this. Diflucan can be taken once every three months for one year to rid the body of systemic yeast. Yeast can cause all sorts of problems (not just vaginal yeast, but systemic yeast that is hard to pinpoint.) IBS, hives, insomnia, depression are all linked to candida. There are a couple of good sites I’ve found for candida: http://www.healingnaturallybybee.com/candida/index.php
      http://askcassyfirst.com/healthinfo/what-is-pcos-anyway/pcos-candida-overgrowth/

      Reply
      • Thanks so much for the websites, I will check them out. God, I am already gluten free and sugar free..but not meat free. Not sure how much more of this I can take. Also, I think I took diflucan last week, prescribed by the gyno. It worked wonders. If you take it regularly, where do you purchase it?

      • If you have recurrent yeast infections, your doc may be able to write you a 1 year prescription that you can fill any time you need. This is what my doc did. Talk to your doctor and see if he/she is willing to do this for you. It’s not available over the counter, unfortunately!

  2. Favorite historical story…Henry VIII and his 6 wives, I gobble that shit up!

    Reply
  3. AHH! I would say fuck this diet and power through the yeast infections until you go back to the way you were, just because. But if it’s really making you uncomfortable, and if you had lots of yeast infections before, then I guess it’s worth continuing and figuring out how to eat something more flavorful than cardboard without infections.

    I’m going to ask this because I feel like there is no such thing as TMI on our blogs lol … Do you wash your vag in the shower? I used to get lots of yeast and bacterial infections but in college I started washing down below – just using warm water (no soap) and also kind of scooping out any excess discharge that had built up from the day/night before. I also sleep completely nude. Any time I travel extensively or stay somewhere else and sleep with underwear/pajamas, I can really tell the difference in my vag health. Usually sleeping in the nude asap will clear it almost overnight (literally). I have no idea if that will help you but it has helped me a lot in terms of preventing infections.

    I wish I had an interesting historical fact to add to this comment so it’s not all about yeast infections but sadly I am at a loss… so… yeast infections it is.

    🙂

    Reply
    • LOL–no such thing as TMI, and the answer is YES to all of the above. I actually bathe every night in a low amount of very warm water and do a whole rinse thing with organic, unscented soap. I never sleep in underwear, and rarely sleep clothed…it usually keeps everything at bay, but at this point it is triggered by diet (alcohol does NOT help my symptoms). I can’t go back to the strict diet right now…that much I know. I’m going to go on the meds, and hope for the best.

      Reply
      • Boo! Then I hope the meds work, and you can continue to eat the way you want, and maybe the yeast infections will go away. One day you can go back to that crazy diet if you want, since it did make you feel better, but for now I say do what feels good. You have enough going on!

  4. I find history absolutely fascinating but tend to be drawn in by the minute details of social history rather than the big events. I love to find out about what they wore, ate, the social structure and how life worked. I find the Regency and Victorian period particularly interesting for social history. It is so hard to pick just one time or event. I studied theatre history and I loved finding out about Greek theatre and the Elizabeathen age of Shakespeare but the restoration is a particularly exciting time in terms of the theatre, when women were first allowed on the stage. I could go on all day about history though, it is just so fascinating.

    Reply
  5. I studied palaeontology, so I’m drawn to stories about major scientific discoveries, particularly those surrounding evolution or major fossil finds: the slow-simmering tale of Darwin’s research that led to the writing of Origin of Species; the life of Mary Anning, the first important female palaeontologist; the “bone wars” between rivals O.C. March and E.D. Cope.

    For some reason, I’ve also been drawn to the sad story of Lady Jane Grey, the unfortunate young woman who ruled England for a brief nine days.

    Re: yeast infections. I thought that I was dealing with recurrent yeast infections and discussed it with my naturopath. She thinks that I actually have recurrent bacterial infections because I don’t have the itchiness normally associated with yeast infections. Nevertheless, she recommended a similar course of action for both possibilities. She told me to first try garlic suppositories. (Yep, she recommended shoving a peeled clove of garlic up there.) If that didn’t work (which it didn’t), she wanted me to move on to probiotic suppositories (bought through her). If that doesn’t get rid of it, it’s time to move on to boric acid suppositories to restore the vagina’s natural pH.

    Reply
    • LOVE the Darwin stuff. It was such an interesting discovery. And I am now going to check out Mary Anning!

      I’ve heard about garlic cloves in the cooch before (haven’t tried it yet!) I have another home remedy that has worked wonders: iodine and warm water douche. It cured an incurable yeast infection I had for years when I was in college.

      Reply
  6. I always like the stories about heroines/villainesses. Anne Boleyn, Delilah, Mata Hari. Even though they weren’t upstanding examples of morality, they were interesting in a time when women weren’t supposed to be.

    Reply
  7. Food poisoning … classic.

    Thanks to the TV show The Tudors as well as Philippa Gregory’s enthralling books on the family, I love that era of history. I went to the Alhambra a few weeks ago and found it even more fascinating because Henry VIII’s first wife Katherine spent a significant part of her young life there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

