RSS Feed

Sizzler…

Posted on

In the 1980s, my grandfather used to take my sister and I to our favorite restaurant once a week. That restaurant was Sizzler (I’m not sure if Sizzler is a country-wide chain, but for those of you familiar with the 80s commercials, don’t forget: “Sizzler” has to be said in a creepy whisper.)

Sizzler had it all….the salad bar, the garlic cheese bread with a thick crust of orange cheese…the all you can eat shrimp…(wipes salivation from side of mouth).

It was the all you can eat shrimp that got me every time. You mean, I can have a plate of shrimp? And then ask the waiter for more? And then…still more?? ANY TIME I WANT?????

Today, Hubs and I will be going to Sizzler for a date night. The first Sizzler I’ve been to since I was eight years old.

Bring it.

Watch the end of this commercial and tell me that the announcer who whispers “Sizzler” doesn’t sound like he may or may not have a chain saw ready to slice and dice you with.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

11 responses »

  1. Ha!! I totally forgot about the creepy “Sizzler” whisper!! I don’t think I’ve ever been to one. Have fun and hope it’s yummy!

    Reply
  2. We ate at Bonanza! as a family growing up. I loved, loved, loved it. I was partial to the salad bar and the plethora of mayo based carb salads. Perhaps it was at Bonanza that I developed PCOS. Yum! Enjoy!

    Reply
  3. I grew up on sizzler!
    Curious to know if it’s as good as I remember.
    All you can eat shrimp… *drool*

    Reply
  4. Chainsaw. Definitely. Run.

    Oh, but eat as many shrimp as you possibly can first!

    Reply
  5. Oh my gosh, I completely forgot about the weird sizzler voice at the end. Totally creepy. Enjoy your date! Do they still do all you can eat shrimp?

    Reply
  6. Sizzler! Awesome! I haven’t been to one of those in forever. We were in Salt Lake City a couple of years ago and saw one for the first time in yeaaaaars. Enjoy!

    Reply
  7. Ha! I used to love Sizzler back in the day! My mom always used to take us there because I’m pretty sure kids were like $2.99 all you can eat. Enjoy your date, you guys need it 🙂

    Reply
  8. Ha ha, thanks for the reminder of that creepy whisper!
    So was it as good as you remember from when you were eight?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

