RSS Feed

Need to gain wieght? EXERCISE!

Posted on

A couple of weeks ago, Jenn at Future Ford’s had a brilliant idea to start a workout challenge. Since I  recently made the commitment to successfully complete all 8 weeks of the Insanity Workout program, I was excited to have this challenge as a motivational forum in which I would loose the flab, drop the excess 8 pounds I’ve gained over the last 2 years, and generally kick some fitness ass.

Instead, I’ve gained almost 3 pounds since I’ve started working out. At first I thought it might be a fluke of the scale…until I weighed myself another 27 times over the last few days, and realized that sweating my ass off and doing a workout program 6 days a week that is sadistically difficult has actually caused me to gain weight. WTF?

Has this ever happened to you?

In other news:

Hubs and I got together with two friends of ours over 4th of July who got married a few weeks after we did. I will call them the Most Likely Fertile Couple. You know how there are some couples you just KNOW will have no problem getting pregnant, you’re sort of just waiting for the shoe to drop? That’s them. I’m not sure why I feel they will have no trouble getting pregnant–but I think it has something to do with the fact that she ordered California rolls without sesame seed garnish one time, and is generally high maintenance. I have found that the more I roll my eyes at someone’s high maintenance behavior, the more fertile they are. It’s just the way the universe works. I was relieved to find out at our 4th of July hang out that they weren’t pregnant, simply because we were spending the night at a house far away from home, and there would have been no escape from hearing all about her pregnancy symptoms (MLFC Wife will be a pregnancy symptom complainer, mark my words) At one point over the weekend,  MLFC Wife told me in a hushed, excited tone that she went off of BC 4 months ago to “prepare” her body for TTC, and oh my goodness, she hadn’t been off the pill since she was 16, and ooh la la a *real* period without BC is crazy isn’t it??, and dear me, the CRAMPS, aren’t they terrible!!???

I sat there with a painted grin on my face, and then had a “fuck it” moment.

“Actually, MLFC Wife…I haven’t had a real period or ovulated since I went off of BC 10 months ago, and we’re exploring options for fertility meds right now. It sucks, quite frankly. “(swigs back another glass of wine)

She took the news of my infertility surprisingly non-awkwardly for someone who will most likely never have to worry her pretty, consistently menstruating vagina about any of this stuff.  I was glad I told her about our struggle: A) because it will hopefully shut her up about pregnancy symptoms around me when she does get pregnant after 2 months of trying. B) I will hopefully not be asked if we are “trying” by her anymore.

What’s white and blue, but never red?

My pad.

Happy post-4th of July.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

12 responses »

  1. Seriously! I hate seeing the scale rise or stay the same from all of that wonderful toning I’m doing. Somehow my husband is LOSING weight even though he’s making much bigger muscles than me. Not fair.

    And I’m glad you told her about your struggle and it wasn’t super awkward (like most of my convos with people who haven’t been here).

    And the little joke actually made me LOL. I’m at work and my workers wanted to know what was so funny. Whoops!

    Reply
    • Argh!! So frustrating to work my ASS off and gain weight 😦 My pants still fit, so I’m praying it’s just copious amounts of muscle!

      Reply
  2. I’m so glad that you spoke up to MLFC Wife! Being open and frank about infertility has been one of the only successful coping mechanisms I’ve managed to wrangle in the past year and a half. Unless the individuals is an asshat, they are going to change their behavior in compassionate fashion. Let me know if you know of any other coping mechanisms. Besides Insanity. I’m not up for sadistic workouts.

    Reply
  3. Good for you for speaking up! Hopefully it helps.

    As for the weight gain, when I was losing weight for my wedding a few years back, I got all gung-ho health crazy and learned that, sometimes you will gain weight when exercising because your body puts on muscle mass. Now, 3 lbs in such a short time does seem a little odd for gaining muscle, but I know that workout is really intense and it just might be possible. One way to check is if your clothes are fitting any different. Maybe you’ve heard that before and already know it’s not the case, but just in case you hadn’t, I thought it was worth passing along. Good for you for sticking with the workouts! Good luck!

    Reply
    • This is great info! I have not really been paying attention to the “diet” part of things, so maybe I’ve been eating a bit more since I’ve been working out so hard, and that plus the muscles are what’s causing the bit of weight gain…

      Reply
  4. Hi! Regarding weight gain..same thing happens to me. You’re just gaining muscle, which is a good thing. Though this is hard, go more by how your clothes fit and how you feel rather than what the scale says. Also, you described that couple perfectly. I know so many people like that! And it is so true..the most high maintenance women get pregnant so easily. Ugh. Good for you for speaking up.

    Reply
    • It’s so weird, isn’t it?? It literally hit me as I was writing the post that this ALWAYS happens with annoying high maintenance people!

      Reply
  5. After you mentioned your observation about high maintenance people – I thought to myself about all the friends I’ve had that got pregnant so easily and holy cow! That’s uncanny!

    Also, its not uncommon to gain some weight exercising – its probably muscle mass. Muscle weighs the same as fat but takes up less space. What matters more is how you look and how your clothes fit!!

    Reply
  6. That’s a good point that I didn’t even think of…you could be eating more because you are exercising more. If that’s the case then your body definitely needs it, but pay more attention to what you’re eating. I have no idea though, I’m terrible at this kind of stuff.

    Reply
  7. I found your blog via Scrambled Eggs, and very pleased I did! I appreciated your clever blog title, and I can identify very much with your “fuck it” moment. I’ve had similar experiences, and they seem to be happening more frequently, like I opened the flood gates and feel everyone should know that we actually are “trying hard enough”.

    Anyway, I love your blog! You are one funny lady.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Most Likely Fertile Couple Strikes Again! « Cease And Decyst

Leave a Reply

