RSS Feed

Day of my birth = Diet Free Day

Posted on

Birthdays are one of those days where calories don’t count, and since I’m a whopping 32 years old today, I plan on taking full advantage of this amazing rule of life. Today, I eat anything I want. I’ll still be cautious of calories, but I’m really not going to worry about having sushi at dinner tonight. Hubs made a reservation at Yamashiro! It’s this fantastic place up in the Hollywood Hills with this view:

Squee!

Being a summer baby, my birthdays as a kid were always fraught withย  anxiety that no one would show up to my party (this happened to me once on my 9th birthday. About 7 out of 10 of the people I invited to my party that year were on vacation and couldn’t attend, and the other 3 who were in town were boys and decided that they didn’t want to come if no one else was coming. I think I’m still in therapy from that one.) I always envied the kids who had birthdays during the school year who got cupcake parties. In my teens I got so fed up with being on summer break during my birthday that I swore up and down that I would purposely avoid getting pregnant in October or November, thus avoiding a July or August baby. Oh, naive Teen Sunny…if you only knew then that fifteen years later you’d basically be praying to go into labor in a crowded elevator on December 25thย  if that’s what it took to pop one out….

Speaking of Teen Sunny, I’ve spoken a little bit about my diary writing in this forum, and how I sometimes perform in a show called Mortified here in LA (it’s a long running show that’s now in 7 or 8 different cities around the US. I basically go up on stage and read my most humiliating diary entries in front of complete strangers. There is a lot of laughter, and it makes me feel good.) I have been keeping diaries since I was six years old, and I had a pretty foul mouth even as a young kid, so my diary entries are often peppered with expletives. It’s kind of amusing. I have been thinking of a way I could do fun posts with my diary entries every once in a while and was inspired by Pregnancy 101 who posted some of her diary entries a little while ago. I’m still not sure what sort of regular weekly entry I could do with my diary entries.

Appropriately to this post, I generally write a “birthday” entry in my diaries. Some years I’ve skipped, but most years I write something. I thought I’d share a fun birthday entry from 1995… when gas was $1.09 a gallon, OJ Simpson was found innocent, and TLC’s “Waterfalls” was the #1 song that week.

So hit play, and take a trip down memory lane with me!

Side note: Jeremy was my next door neighbor (also my age) who I had an unhealthy/obsessive crush on for about 4 years. I used to sit out on my front lawn waiting for him to come out so I could try to talk to him. We had lots of awkward conversations together, but it was strictly platonic until one night when I was home from college on a summer break. We got high together and had awkward sex, and it completely cured me of any fantasy crush I ever had on him.

Other side note: Remember my “salad” analogy from my previous post? That was Stuart. Possibly one of the sweetest boys I knew growing up, and oh, how I trampled his genuinely loving heart (I tended to be drawn towards the boys who treated me like crap and made me pine for them–not nice ones like Stuart.) We went on a couple dates in high school, but I could never get into him. I forced myself to try again right before I left for college, and ended up further breaking his heart. I still feel bad about what a teenage twit I was with that.

This diary entry is verbatim. In re-reading it, I realize I sound completely frenzied and non-sequential. Yikes!

July 18th, 1995

This is my last entry as a 14 year old. Damn! I thought I’d never reach 15. Stuart called me today and we talked for about an hour. He asked me what I wanted for my birthday and I said flower seeds. He brought up the idea of cacti and I said that would be cool. He said he would like to give me some of his grandma’s since she passed away. Do I deserve this? I mean, he’s giving me part of his family here. He also invited me to The Cobalt and said, “I hope you can come because I miss you!” Like a fucking idiot I said, “Well, I guess that’s ditto for me!” Probably leading him down the road to all sorts of crazy ideas. Yes, Stuart hasn’t taken a subtle hint. I’m too shy to go for the direct approach but that might be what needs to be done. It’s very strange, but this whole summer I think I’ll only have seen Jeremy for approximately 2 1/2 weeks. Almost every day in August I’m going to be busy and some time in August he’s going out of town. I wish I had his address so I could write him even though that may sound corny to him. You know what? I’ve made up my mind. Who gives a fuck who thinks it’s corny, I’m going to do what I want. I have got to stop caring what everyone else might think. He’s coming home this Sunday so maybe I’ll see him soon. I’ve sort of forgotten what he looks like but hell. I DON”T CARE ANYMORE. I hope his sister’s nice. Will he want to talk now that his sister is home from college? WHO CARES?? Next time I write I’ll be 15.

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

13 responses »

  1. Happy birthday! I hope you enjoy every single calorie, especially the sushi!!

    Reply
  2. Happy Birthday!

    I do not miss high school, but I do remember loving that song! I also remember the OJ verdict vividly. I was in 10th grade math class and another Jeremy was secretly listening on a pocket radio. Crazy flashbulb memory.

    Reply
  3. I remember Stuart! He was a nice guy and as I remember, had a super hot bod. Wasn’t he on swim team or something? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Birthday love!

    Reply
  4. Happy Birthday! You are younger than me, just! I turned 32 in March. I hope you have a lovely day.

    Reply
  5. Happy birthday! Calories aren’t absorbed into the body on birthdays, so don’t worry ๐Ÿ˜‰ I never thought about that aspect of being a summer baby. My birthday is in November, but I always wished I was a summer baby (like my brother) because he always got to have pool party birthday parties. I had a pool party one time at an inside pool and it just wasn’t the same. But then again we were often on vacation for his birthday and had to postpone his party until the end of the summer, so that was probably not so great for him.

    Reply
  6. Happy Birthday!

    I love your diary entry and the stories from your childhood! I was just like you – always pining away for the cocky assholes and stomping on the hearts of the nice guys. Luckily I learned my lesson over the years and ended up marrying a good one!

    Reply
  7. Happy birthday! I hope it’s fun and delicious.

    Reply
  8. Happy Birthday!
    I turned 32 a few months ago. I like the diary entry thing. I’m sure the live readings are hilarious. I burned my childhood diaries years ago so they wouldn’t embarrass me if I died suddenly. Way to OWN it!

    Reply
  9. Happy Birthday Sunny!! Eat something decadent for me ๐Ÿ™‚ Also remember to make a wish for yourself because everyone knows birthday wished come true!

    Reply
  10. Hey, thanks for the shout-out! Still don’t know what to do with my diary entries, but combining them into some sort of book is my current thought. I love how you get up and read yours in front of other people! And, by the way,happy, happy birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  11. Amazing diary entry! Thanks for sharing!
    And happy birthday! I just had mine too, except it’s winter here in Oz so you wouldn’t have had those issues with everybody being away on summer break over school if you lived here. You would have had to deal with crummy weather though. I agree that calories totally don’t count so hope you scoffed accordingly ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

