RSS Feed

Early Endocrinologist Appointment!

Posted on

On a whim, I called Dr. Fresh Eggs office today to see if he might have an appointment opening any earlier than October 3 (when I was scheduled to come in.) As it so happened, there was JUST a cancellation, and I’m now in to see him next Wednesday! Love good news like that.
My only conundrum right now is that I’ve started the pill again…do you think I should stop the pill until I can get some fresh blood work done without pill hormones skewing anything? How does it work with hormone testing if you’re on the pill? I have a feeling he’s probably going to want to do a bunch of tests. At the same time, I know that people use Provera to induce a period all of the time, and still take a Day 3 blood test. Anyone have any thoughts?

But, as they say, these are high class problems to have. I’m super excited to be meeting with him next week. He’s a top top TOP doctor in his field with a specialty in PCOS.

If anyone has any questions you’d like me to ask in regards to things you’ve always wondered about PCOS, please comment and I will do my darndest to include these questions on the list of about 547 things I want to ask him next week.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

8 responses »

  1. Whoo-hoo! That’s great that you can get in to see him so much sooner!

    I wish I could answer your question about the BCPs, but I’m clueless. Perhaps there’s a nurse at his office that you could speak to about it?

    Reply
  2. Whoo hoo for not having to wait until October! I agree with PP, I’d call the office and ask them about discontinuing the BCP ASAP. Good luck!!

    Reply
  3. I’d ask him what he thinks about Pinitol / myo-inositol to combat PCOS. It seems to be really effective in some women with PCOS, also may be useful for treating high sugars in diabetes. I’m fairly stoked about it, all the science and the anecdotal stories you hear on the PCOS boards show that it can really make a difference in some people!

    Reply
  4. I’m envisioning you unrolling a scroll with questions from 1,427 PCOS bloggers.

    Reply
  5. Congrats! It must have been meant to be. Before you stop the BCPs, I would call and ask their office what to do. I think it affects some but not all of the tests. (I can’t remember which though.)

    So exciting! I can’t wait to hear what he has to say.

    Reply
  6. Hooray for a sooner appointment! And, definitely call the office and ask about the BCP. I’m on provera now to jump start my pcos body into a period so I can do the HSG.

    Reply
  7. Fantastic news about the earlier appointment! Calling the office about the BCPs seems like the best bet. Looking forward to hearing about the appt!

    Reply
  8. Hi! New follower/blogger here! congrats on getting in so quickly – always a good idea to keep calling 🙂 i agree with the other ladies about calling the office. i had a similar experience and they told me to say on it since i already started b/c stopping even with taking provera is not preferred and can screw up your body more sometimes! they also some of the tests aren’t affected by bcps so they can still do some bw and then do the rest when you finish! i would ask about metformin but also (since you had bad side effects) about other medicines like it – my RE said there is one w/ less side effecsts but i can’t remember the name right now! also make sure you have all your previous records sent b/c my first RE didn’t even do bw and just looked at my pervious bw. i would also ask about diet vs exercise with pcosers! i’ll be interested to hear what they have to say! GL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

