RSS Feed

Stuff n Stuff

Posted on

I realize I haven’t been a good blog tender the last week. This is in part due to the fact that my ovaries are currently in medically induced shut down mode right now due to the pill and partly because I have been sick as a freaking dog the last week. Not just your run of the mill sort of cough sneeze and be done with it sort of “sick”, either. We’re talking fevers, chills, hacking up of viscous fluids and evoking  the voice of Bea Arthur kind of sick. I felt like I was coming down with something right before I left for Santa Cruz, and once I came back 4 days later, it was shitsville. The antibiotics are doing virtually nothing for the cough, but at least I lost a couple of pounds (take THAT weight loss challenge!) and I’m not shivering under covers anymore. Grandma Sunny brought over home made chicken soup yesterday, and Hubs has been making Gatorade pit stops for me, along with wincing every time I have a really good hack and saying, “Hmmm….that really doesn’t sound good…”. He has also become an excellent Lysol spritzer.

In a few days, I hit it to the right coast for Hub’s sister’s wedding, and about 10 days of R&R in Boston and New Hampshire. I am praying the cough subsides soon. This is really freaking annoying.

And now, because I’m sick and lazy, here are some life bullet points to jazz you up on this fine Tuesday:

  • It’s been in the triple digits here in the San Fernando Valley and our home doesn’t have AC (we bought the home knowing that it needed to be fixed, and haven’t wanted to put the 5K into doing it) so I get to hack up my lungs in a pool of my own sweat which is amazing. Really magical.
  • I bought a professional wax warmer and honey wax and waxed my own upper lip yesterday! Not only is my upper lip as smooth as a baby’s ass, I saved $10 or so on a salon wax, which means I only have a about 4 waxes to go before the thing pays for itself. If PCOS is going to make me sprout facial hair, at least I’ll be economical about it. I’m so excited about how easy it was to use this waxing kit that I’m thinking of waxing my legs now.
  • In a “kill two birds with one waxing kit” move, I attempted to wax Hubs’ back for shits and giggles. It was less about shitting and giggling and was more like “holy fucks” and blood curdling screams. Hubs has never been waxed before, so it’s hard to tell if it was more painful than your run of the mill lip wax or if he was being overly dramatic, but let’s just say he got through two medium sized strips on his back and then said, “You’re never touching me with that fucking thing again.” Is it wrong that I was laughing silently and hysterically behind his back as he was screaming after I ripped the first strip off?
  • I’m getting “pill boobs” again. This happens every time I get on the pill, no matter what brand (I think because of the progesterone in the pill?) Basically, my boobs get GINORMOUS overnight. Back in 1863 when I used to ovulate on my own, my boobs would also get huge and tender right before my period. I must admit, I sort of like this side effect of progesterone.
  • I finish my 3 weeks of active pills on Saturday, and then once my period starts, I jump into 50mg of Clomid. My prescription for Clomid says to take the pills Days 3-7, but I have also heard of people doing Days 5-9. Has anyone heard of why this is the case? Anyone had better luck ovulating on one start day vs the other? Does it matter?
  • I bought self tanner, and damn it, I’m going to use it.
About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

16 responses »

  1. Hello! I’ve never commented before but I’ve been reading for a while. I was diagnosed with PCOS in the last few months and have also been trying to get pregnant (although I don’t know if you can call it trying when you’re not actually ovulating…). Anyway, I took my first round of Clomid 50 mg on days 5-9 this month. I had an ultrasound yesterday (day 16) and I have 3-4 follicles on my left ovary, so everything seems to be going as planned. The doc says if they don’t ever drop then next month he can give me the hcg trigger shot to make those little puppies move.

    From what i understand, days 5-9 lowers your risk of multiples in a tiny, tiny way and encourages one well developed follicle. Days 3-7 supposedly leads to more follicles that may not be as developed. My Dr. says the differences are so minute it hardly matters, so i wouldn’t worry about it too much. I hope your first round goes well. Sunday night before my ultrasound on Monday i was laying on my bed sobbing to my husband that I didn’t think it was working (did I mention it causes mood swings?) so yesterday was a huge upper to me. I hope it is to you too! Are they going to do an ultrasound on you to monitor your progress?

    Reply
    • Hey! Thanks for commenting! Very interesting info about the Clomid start dates. I’ve prepped my husband for the possibility of mood swings on this stuff…I am slightly terrified of this, but we’ll see how it all shakes out.

      Reply
      • They weren’t as bad as what a lot of women I’d read had experienced-but then again this is the lowest round. I’m not really expecting this to be the time it works, but so hoping it is! Not looking forward to 100 mg hormones….My husband is already shopping for a “safer vehicle” for me (I drive a pontiac vibe. It’s like a station wagon. Terribly, terribly hazardous….) and I told him to hold his horses until his tiny horses had done their job with my tiny defective ovaries. But the ultrasound was definitely a lift!

    • Oh, and YES–my gyno will be doing an ultrasound around Day 13 or 14 to see how I’m tracking.

      Reply
      • That’s great. If I hadn’t had the ultrasound I would be completely depressed for the next few weeks. At least the ultrasound let me know I still have a week or so before ovulation is out of the question!

  2. I don’t know the science of it,
    I can only serve as one example. I don’t have PCOS and according to prior blood work I was ovulating on my own anyway. We used Clomid to boost our chances with IUI.
    My first round of Clomid (50mg) I took CD 5-9 and at CD 12 I had a follicle measuring 22.5 and one at 21. On my 2nd try of Clomid I went for CD 3-7 and I got follicles measuring 18.5, 18 and 17.5.

    Reply
    • Hmmm. Very interesting. This seems to follow Samantha’s theory that CD 5-9 gives you less, more developed follicles, although yours all seem pretty damn great!

      Reply
  3. Bigger boobs was the only thing I liked about taking the pill. The horrible mood swings I could have done without.

    My doctor had me take clomid on days 3-7 and I always produced two good-sized follicles – not that they actually did me any good! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you have better luck than I did. 🙂

    Reply
    • Do you know why you didn’t have success on Clomid? Sorry if that’s too personal-I’m just new to all of this and all of the reports from women on the internet are all so different. I was just curious if the follicles never dropped or if it was just the egg not being “caught”.

      Reply
  4. Bahaha! Thanks for the laughs this morning. I’m sorry you’re feeling yucky and hope you feel better for your trip! As for Clomid, I have done both CD 3-7 & 5-9. I think the earlier one is to get a higher number of follicles and the later is to get better quality ones? Good luck on this cycle and enjoy your giant ta tas! 🙂

    Reply
  5. I asked my RE this question and he told me he prefers CD 5-9 because it is the common regimen used in clinical trials. He also was ambivalent about the start dates letting me know that if I preferred 3-7 that he was okay with it, as well. So, now I’ve done two cycles, one each way. On my 3-7 cycle I ovulated on CD 17, which is early for me. I had two follicles at 24 and 26 mm on CD 15. I used OPKs on days 10-17 and got one decisive positive on CD 16. My new RE doesn’t monitor the clomid-only cycles. Yet, for the 5-9 cycle, I do know that I ovulated on CD 19. I also know that this cycle mimicked my regular cycle in that I got a mini LH surge around CD 12 with a positive OPK. I then got another positive OPK on CD18 right before I ovulated. Based simply on these two cycles I think I respond better to the 3-7 regimen and that’s what I’m doing this month. Also, I’ve read that FSH starts pumping from our pituitary gland on CD 3. Some claim that by beginning medication on CD 5 you may have already missed the boat (this was anecdotal info).

    Reply
  6. I know nothing about clomid, but hurray for the wax kit! I haven’t worked up the courage to wax my own ‘stache… just been trimming and bleaching.

    Reply
  7. I know it seems “lazy” or “improper” to blog in bullet points, but I actually find them quite readable and easy on the eyes.

    Reply
  8. It’s really kind of impressive that you haven’t ovulated in almost 150 years! I hope you feel better soon and get to enjoy your trip to the right coast. Boston is amazing this time of year, in my opinion.

    Reply
  9. I’m on the pill for our IVF and I’m getting “the pill” boobs too! so glad it isn’t just me! I haven’t been on the pill for 3 years and so had no recollection.
    That sucks you’ve been sick AND in your own sweat. UGH
    Imagining you waxing hubby’s back makes me giggle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

