RSS Feed

CD9–I’m back!

Posted on

Yes, I know you all were waiting with baited breath for me to return from my travels and be updated with news of my vagina!

The good news is, still no real Clomid side effects that I can tell, aside from a little bit of bloating. Of course, the bloating could be from the 5billion calories I ate on vacation.  Unfortunately, I got a yeast infection from my period (as usual), but lucky me, I had the foresight to bring a Diflucan tab with me on vacation, so that was cleared up within a day.  Take that, yeast.

I guess now it’s just wait and see time?

I have an appointment with the gyno on Friday (CD12) for him to monitor my progress and see if I have anything going on in the ovary department and the uterine lining department. Is there anything else I should ask him to check? Should he do a test on my estrogen levels? I figure I might as well get some tests done as long as I’m there…Don’t know what the usual protocol is–especially if there is no sign of any follicle development.  If I’m going to ovulate, would there usually be something going on on CD12? Will he automatically up my Clomid dose if there isn’t any follicles? Do I have to wait for another period?

I am also getting a fasting glucose test done tomorrow. Unlike the one the gyno did over a year ago, this one will be testing my glucose levels over two hours, and will give my endocrinologist a better idea about what is going on in the insulin resistance department. He’s also checking my free and total testosterone again. I know it’s going to be high…it’s embarrassing to admit, but I am experiencing male pattern baldness on the sides of my head due to elevated androgen/testosterone levels from this goddamn PCOS. It’s not totally noticeable unless I pull my hair back, in which case, you can see the hairline is somewhat receding. Great. The good news is that once I get my baseline glucose test done tomorrow, I can start on the Metformin protocol. My endocrinologist wants me to build up to 2,000mg a day and to take it for 6 months. Pretty hard core, but I’m going to really try to succeed at the Met this time around. I may have pukey bowels, but if I can ovulate, it will be worth it.

 

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

6 responses »

  1. You should see follies come CD12! Since you are new at this game, I would ask for blood work to keep track of how your body responds. Honestly, I hate that I have not been more insistent upon blood work with my cycles. I like data. And your endocrinologist sounds super! And I understand the balding problem. I’m thinning up top which SUCKS when you are a chick. The Professor is also balding. We have pact that when our hairs get thin enough we’ll tell the other and just shave it off. I look forward to the day when I can have different wigs to choose from each day. I don’t give two shits what the world thinks 🙂

    Reply
  2. If you don’t ovulate this cycle you will have to wait until you have a period to take clomid again and they should up your dosage in that situation. As far as side effects, I’m now 12 DPO on my 50 mg cycle of clomid and the higher my temperature climbs the more painful my cramps are. I’ve had menstrual type cramps since about 4 DPO and they have increased in intensity. I called my doctor and the dippy nurse told me it’s normal for some women on clomid to have severe cramping, but she couldn’t explain to me (hence dippy). I know a lot of women who DON’T have cramping though-but I thought I’d just let you know so you didn’t freak out if it happened to you. I hope they see something! My ultrasound was at cycle day 16, but I took my clomid CD 5-9. You must update us as soon as they are done feeling you up with their fancy x-ray stick!

    Reply
  3. Argh! I hate the male pattern balding. I too having thinning hair at my temples. I just thought this morning that I should measure the height of my forehead to see if it changes over time. It was a depressing thought and I dismissed it. What would I do with that validation? Panic. That’s what. Also, as an aside, my blood glucose tests always have come back normal, even the two hour test. Well within normal. Yet, I have responded famously to Metformin. So, if things are normal, don’t be afraid to move forward! Lastly, I hope your ultrasound reveals one nice big follie that is greater than or equal to 10 mm. Good luck!

    Reply
  4. I’d expect you to see some follicles at CD12! They measured my E2 and LH while on letrozole. The latter was to see if I surged on my own, or if they needed me to trigger. It wouldn’t hurt to check to see what other things they might measure if you want to.

    I hope this is your lucky cycle!!!

    Reply
  5. You should def see something on CD12 but don’t worry if you don’t, my pregnant Clomid cycle I didn’t actually ovulate until CD29. If you don’t ovulate this cycle you have to wait for a period to start a new cycle with the upped dosage of Clomid.

    Good luck, hoping you see some big follies!

    Reply
  6. I’ve been on the edge of my seat for DAYS wondering about your vag! It’s about time you updated 🙂

    You should definitely see follicles by CD12. I usually triggered on CD 12, but I also took Clomid earlier in my cycle so that could be way different. Can’t wait to hear more vag news 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

