RSS Feed

Inbred ovaries

Posted on

Just back from the gyno for my CD12 ultrasound.

Uterine lining: 5mm. In other words, completely uninhabitable at the moment.  It’s better than the 3mm I had last year around this time. And yet, it is still shit. Gyno says it may plump up some more over this week, but it should be around 8mm at least for implantation, and it’s not there yet.

Ovaries: Righty has exactly zero follicles a-brewing. Way to GO Righty! You’re awesome. Go huff some more paint thinner. Lefty (where I was feeling twinges a couple of days ago) has a 7mm “dominant” follicle which is sort of like saying that this dude is ripped:

Lefty also has a bunch of withered ovarian cysts which are about 2mm in diameter (they’re 7mm follicle’s brother cousins).  My gyno sort of stuttered to explain to me that my follicle needs to grow another 10mm before I’m anywhere close to ready to ovulate. His confidence in this cycle was about as underwhelming and pained as the time I lost my virginity. I wish he had been a but more positive about it all, but seeing him stammer some wishy washy “maybe you’ll ovulate” response to try and keep me from getting upset just made things worse.

Back in 1763 when I used to ovulate, it would usually be around CD 18 or so, so I know that things may very well grow and mature this week…but one follicle at 7mm…well…it was disappointing. Really fucking disappointing. I just wanted a vote of confidence on that stupid ultrasound machine. A “hey, Sunny! Wouldja look at that! Things are lookin up for us, kid!” Instead, I got to pay a visit to my two inbred ovaries. Hubs says to keep positive, and that maybe my follicle isn’t done growing yet…I’m so new to this game that I have no idea if there is anything to be optimistic about. I will continue to temp, and monitor stuff but if nothing happens in a week or so, I’m declaring this cycle a bust.

On the positive side (I guess?) Dr. Good Eggs, the endocrinologist called me and let me know that my glucose tolerance test came back completely normal. So, it’s great I don’t have diabetes or insulin resistance, and not so great that I have NO FUCKING CLUE why I’m not ovulating now. He says to keep taking the Metformin, which I will do, but again: FRUSTRATING.

Wishing everyone a happy, 18-22mm weekend.
**UPDATE**

Because my vagina loves to fuck with me (pun intended), a glob of the biggest, ooiest, gooiest booger-like EWCM I have ever seen just exited my vag after my bath. Had I not seen my puny follicle on the screen, I would have thought it was a good sign. Now I’m just annoyed. Someone explain to me why the *f* EWCM exists if there is no way that I am in a fertile window right now.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

13 responses »

  1. I don’t know if you have already heard this or not, but Clomid isn’t exactly great for lining. Femara might be a better option for you. Just a thought. Also, it dries up your CM. Not really conceptionally friendly which is surprising considering how many people use it.

    I don’t test insulin resistant, but I am very resistant and the metformin made a huge difference in my cycles while doing IUI. Keep your head up!

    Reply
    • I’ve heard mixed reviews about Clomid and lining issues–it screws it up for some, and is fine for others. But I have heard that PCOS women are more prone to lining issues on it. I’ve been having lining issues for a while now, regardless of Clomid. I’ve also heard of docs prescribing estrogen on Clomid to help counteract the thin lining. I haven’t been experiencing dryness on it (quite the opposite!) so not sure wtf is going on. My doc won’t prescribe Femara due to it’s non-clinical use for fertility (annoying) so I would have to go to an RE for that. Really good to know that the Met helped your cycles! Were you on 1500mg? My Endocrinologist wants me at 2,000. Eeeeeeeek.

      Reply
  2. Damn. Why can’t our bodies just *effing* get it together?!?!? DO SOMETHING RIGHT, BODY. COME ON. WHAT THE HELL?!?

    Sorry. One glass of wine too many. But I stand by my statement. What the eff.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Jen. It’s exactly how I feel. Come on now, body. Seriously? Why do you fuck with me so. I may start drinking right now, and it’s Sunday at 6:30AM.

      Reply
  3. I had lining issued with Clomid so they switched me to Femara and that helped with the lining issues, although no baby success on it. Didn’t conceive til they put me on injectables.

    Reply
  4. I know it’s tough but with Clomid I really had to manage my expectations. It is really iffy for PCOS women. With me, all I got was a fat cyst – no ovulation. It’s worth a shot, but can’t be counted on to help, unfortunately. Some women have more luck with Femara (my doc wouldn’t give it to me to try though, because it is an off-book use for the drug). I would really save my pennies to try injectables if Clomid doesn’t work out. Also, I got random EWCM all the time with PCOS, as well as unpredictable temps. Eventually I gave up trying to track either and just relied on ovulation tests. I’m sorry PCOS sucks so much. Love you. xo

    Reply
  5. Pingback: According to my fertility friend « Kathryn Finding Fertility

  6. Yep, it’s the PCOS causing all the unpredictability. I hate it too!

    Reply
  7. My doc is willing to try Femara if Clomid doesn’t lead anywhere, but he is hesitant about it, nto so much because of it’s “off the bookness” but because it has a higher instance of birth defects-something I’d greatly like to avoid. So i’m really hoping the Clomid works (for both of us) I did get a big old bloody period though so first round didn’t work for me, but on the brightside I did have a strong ovulation, so we’re going for round two…

    Reply
    • That;s great that you’ve responded so well to the Clomid! Yay. From what I undersdat, the birth defects on Femara occur only if taken AFTER pregnancy, which would not be the case for you since you will be monitoring your ovulation. But it looks like the Clomid is working well for you. Keep me posted!

      Reply
  8. I read your entire blog in 2 days, and this is the funniest post out of all of them! I’m so happy that you succeeded. Your food-restriction complaints are most inspiring because now I’m doing the same thing, except I’m not pregnant and I still don’t know if it’s worth it.

    Reply
    • Wow!! I feel so flattered that you read my blog cover to cover! Well, as you can see, the food restrictions helped, but it was mainly the Clomid that got me knocked up. I am all for a healthy diet, but in retrospect, all of the dietary craziness I attempted to curb my PCOS added a ton of anxiety as well–to the point where I was afraid to eat anything! I am rooting for you on your journey, and just know that there are lots of success stories out there!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

