RSS Feed

Elimination Diet Redux

Posted on

Over the past few weeks, ever since my 50mg of Clomid failed, I’ve been increasing in uneasiness. Loathe as I am to admit it, I have come full circle to one full year of TTC with no ovulation. My chin hairs are still sprouting, my belly fat still won’t budge (due to high circulating testosterone levels and an erratic diet I have gained close to 10 pounds this year), my hairline is receding, my tongue is still swollen looking and pale, my sleep issues haven’t improved, and I’ve been moody and depressed.

I decided this weekend that as hard as it is for me to do this (again…) I’m going back on my Elimination Diet. Sort of. I’m going to keep some eggs and soy (tofu) but starting today I will be eliminating:

1. caffeine (I am allowing myself a cup of green tea in the morning for the first few days)
2. alcohol
3. sugar
4. dairy
5. wheat products of any kind

In the 5 weeks I was able to do this a few months ago, I felt better than I have all year (aside for my 2 weeks of hell detoxing from all of this shit). Knowing what I know now, I need to stick to this diet plan for months, not just weeks. It has to be a life style change, not just a challenge. My sugar consumption is getting out of control. I have made up a chart of all of the supplements and vitamins I need to take during the day as well. Green Drink of Terror is coming back to play in a BIG way, folks. As nasty as it is, it is so healthy.

I will be traveling to Cannes on business in a few weeks (poor me, I know!) so I will be giving myself a 5 day free pass from this diet while I’m there, but for the most part, I plan on continuing this diet indefinitely (except for holidays. Those also get a free pass).

I know this sounds weird, but I am also going to take pictures of my tongue. In Chinese medicine, the tongue is a very strong indicator of systemic imbalance. My tongue is pale and swollen which is indicative of a sluggish, tired, damp system with a tendency towards cysts. I can’t even remember the last time my tongue has been pink and not pale/grey. So, in hopes of seeing some real systemic change with this diet, I will be photographing my tongue once a week upon waking up, before eating.

For breakfast today:

Hot quinoa cereal with cinnamon and agave with a side of raspberries. Maybe some almond milk.

Forgive me if I don’t sound pumped up or excited…I just know how hard this is going to be for the first couple of weeks…and I can’t believe I’m doing this again…

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

14 responses »

  1. I do the same thing. I veer away from a PCOS-friendly diet and then back in line. It is really hard to maintain over the long-term, but you are right, it is about making a lifestyle change. I wish your doctor would move to Femara. So many women with PCOS are clomid-resistant, yet doctors seem to want to try, and try, and try the Clomid. Suck.

    Reply
  2. I have a lady I work with who is on an anti-inflammation diet that is very similar to yours. I call it the deprivation diet, but she also says she feels so much better (she’s doing it to avoid having hip surgery). She said a few weeks ago she strayed and had wine and she felt it for DAYS, so I believe that diet can make a huge difference.

    My PCOS doesn’t seem to be as severe as yours so I’m not to the deprivation diet yet. I should try to cut back on the sugars though, which is so, so hard. I don’t have the cysts and Clomid did make me ovulate (but of course I’m not pregnant. That would’ve been too easy). But this cycle I’ve had a ton of +OPK’s and no ovulation yet. It’s too early for one thing, but this is the first real PCOS indicator I’ve had. False positive OPK’s. It’s really great having stressful marathon sex for nothing. I have my monitoring ultrasound tomorrow so I’m hoping for good things. If clomid ends up not working I think I’m going to try soy isoflavones. Supposedly they are “nature’s clomid”. I hope your deprivation diet isn’t as hard on you as last time 😦

    Reply
    • Ugh, fake out ovulation marathon sex is the worst. I almost always get two lines on my cheapie ovulation test. It’s due to the excess LH in the system because of the PCOS. I really hope the clomid works for you this time! I tried soy isoflavones about 6 months ago, and it didn’t work for me at all 😦 Grr!

      Reply
      • I just got back from my monitoring appt and I have a giant follicle (which is good, supposedly) and a solid uterine lining. He said I’ll ovulate in the next 72 hours. We had sex last night, so we’re taking tonight off and then hit it hard for the next few days. I just refuse to wear us out like we did last month. If I don’t “fall pregnant” this cycle, husband is getting SA done. Then if I’m still not after two more clomid cycles he wants to do more invasive testing. Checking the tubes and such. So not wanting to do that… I really like my doctor and I’m so glad he’s honest with me, but it’s hard to hear “hey this follicle looks great! but next cycle i want your husband’s sperm tested and here’s all the things you probably need to have done” It’s sort of like he’s saying “you might get pregnant, but I sort of doubt it…”

        In other news, today I have to take a frequently vomiting cat for a vet visit that I feel certain is going to cause me financial pain. This in and of itself could be birth control…

  3. Good for you! I suck at these types of commitments. You got it!

    Reply
  4. Good luck! Did you lose weight on this diet before? I only seem to lose weight if I go super low carb…

    Reply
  5. I hope it goes well and that you have less detox this time. The idea of making this a lifestyle change is a good one. Maybe it will be easier to embrace that way. Good luck!

    Reply
  6. I noticed you will not be eliminating herbal refreshments. I’m sure healthy food tastes phenomenal while watching Planet Earth on blu-ray.

    Reply
  7. Hi,
    I ran across your blog by chance as I just started up my Candida diet for PCOS. The past couple months I’ve ovulated simply by including each day plain organic yogurt and a teaspoon of organic cold pressed Flaxseed oil. I am not trying to get pregnant til I lose some additional weight and the Candida is under control, but who knows at this rate!! I am amazed at how fast it is working. Also I completely avoid anything with soy and anything that is sweet in nature for two weeks, fruit, honey, molasses-anything. After two weeks slowly add back natural sweeteners etc. I have lost weight doing this, but the first week I am a total emotional witch! Oh and I make a huge pot of organic chicken soup. You need to make your own broth with the chicken on the bone, just boil it until the bones get really soft then remove, add veggies, onions & celery work wonders, sea salt & pepper. Eat it whenever you feel peckish. Also coconut oil helps the intestine and eases into elimination diets especially for Candida! Good Luck!! I also take Metformin, but it didn’t seem to be doing anything.

    Reply
  8. I haven’t had the “pleasure” of being on Clomid but I hear it’s hell.

    I say go with your gut about your tongue and what it conveys about your system. I don’t think of myself as overly woo woo but I dunno, I’ve had a couple of instances where alternative medicine and instinct got me where I needed to be more than traditional western medicine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

