RSS Feed

It’s 90 degrees. In my house.

Posted on

No air conditioning and record breaking heat in Southern California’s San Fernando Valley = me, bitchy as hell, and on the internets at 3AM.

Insomnia and the internet usually produce a really bad combination, as I often pay a visit to my friend Dr. Google or Fertilebook at this time. It is during these wee hours of the morning that I simultaneously discover that not only to I have IBS, a hernia, adrenal cancer, and systemic candida, but also that my friends, friends of friends and their dogs can all get pregnant, and like to announce it to the world in very crafty ways: “Snookie and I have something in common…” and “I guess the pullout method doesn’t work” are two I’ve seen recently. Unfriend.

I did have a momentary lapse on Facebook this morning (saw another “someone’s going to be a big brother” post–seriously? If you’re going to easily pop out two kids in 2.5 years, please just post “I’m fertile, bitches!!!!!” We get it.) BUT I didn’t Dr. Google anything health or fertility related. Yay! Instead, I did some further looking into a story I heard on NPR last week. It was about a man named Charles Cushman whose entire collection of 14,000 amateur photos were found in a box in an attic. These photos were taken between 1939-the 1960s, I think. The kicker? He shot them in color. Color film did exist back then but it was very expensive. I have now spent the last 2 hours going through the Indiana University archives. It’s so haunting to see images of people clearly from the 30s and 40s shot in color, and yet I am utterly fascinated by this. It’s as if black and white somehow defines our memories of that era…to see the images in color, almost as if they could have been taken last week, is both incredibly cool, and jarring to the senses.

His story is pretty interesting, especially the parts about his relationship with his wife. Check out the NPR story here.

For all of the images in the collection, go here

Here are a couple of my favorites, although there truly are too many to count. All of these were taken in 1939.

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

5 responses »

  1. It’s crazzzzzzy that it’s hotter down there than up here!!! It was in the 100s in SD! Anyway, sorry the heat is so crazy, but thanks for sharing those pictures. So amazing! I will check out the article and pics this week.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for pointing me to the Cushman story and his amazing photos. (Sorry you were awake and hot when you found it.) His devotion to his wife seems pretty profound.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome! Not to sound skeptical, but I feel like wifey came from a lot of money which afforded him to live a life style where he could travel the country and photograph the world for years. Just my first impression!

      Reply
  3. Why google is so mean to us?

    And Facebook, too.

    Love, love, love those photos. Having them in colour challenges the “old-timey” vibe really well. When I think about it, I tend to think of people in the past as kind of foreign from us but of course, duh, not so.

    Thanks for sharing the link, must check it out and do something smarterer than reading d-listed.

    Or i could do both.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for sharing the links. I love that sort of stuff!

    Sorry about the sleepless night, though. I hope things cool off for you soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

