RSS Feed

Clomid Danger Zone

Posted on

Ok, so maybe my last entry was a little…doom and gloom. Or as Return to Go’s Kristin so eloquently commented, “…you are entering what I experienced as the Clomid danger zone.” To which I immediately start singing Kenny Loggins and referring to my ovaries as Goose and Ice Man.

I know I painted this hopeless picture yesterday, but there have been some bright spots through all of this:

1. Since being comfortably on 2,000mg of Metformin for over a month now (zoinks, Scoob!) my belly fat has noticeably dropped, and my chin hair count has dropped significantly, making me look less like Chaz Bono. I mean, I always wanted to grow a goatee in the 90s, but seriously. At the beginning of last year, I began tallying the chin hairs I plucked on a regular basis. Right off birth control pills, when my testosterone was relatively low at 35, I plucked about 5 per week. Two months ago, when my testosterone levels were at 78 (thanks, cysts), I was plucking about 25 thick hairs a week and had pretty noticeable lip hair. This week, I have only plucked 5 chin hairs thus far, and they have all been pretty fine hairs. I treat this as a win. Met appears to be helping to turn me back into a woman.

2. My Elimination Diet plan is going very well. Aside from the annoyances of craving sugar (still) the plan has been so much easier to follow this time around, since I know a bit more about what I like to cook. Hummus and chicken are OUTSTANDING by the way. When I get sugar cravings, a piece of fruit is often enough to satisfy them. No, I’m not insane enough to think this makes up for the fact that I couldn’t have carrot cake at work yesterday.

3. Skin is looking better with all of the water and tea I’ve been drinking.

4. It’s official! I’m running the Malibu Marathon in November! I know it sounds crazy to feel excited about running 26.2 miles, but for me, it is complete and utter exhilaration. Marathons are a test of mental will just as much as physical will, and the rush of relief when you cross that finish line is so so sweet. It’s what I imagine a BFP might feel like at this point.

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

14 responses »

  1. Go, Sunny, Go!!!! I’m so excited for you to run a full marathon! November is crazy soon – have you been training? This almost makes me want to run another one… πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I have been training, but not nearly as much as I should be…this weekend is a 10 mile run (eek!) and I’ve done a 6 and and 8 mile run over the last 2 weeks. I should probably blog more about my running πŸ™‚ Run another!! Where are you based? Marathons are a bit addictive.

      Reply
  2. Yay!!!!! I’m so happy for you! When is the marathon? Maybe I can get down to gorgeous Malibu to cheer you on. Seriously, I’m so jealous. I want to run one too so I’ll have to live through Someone else while I’m back on Clomid!

    Reply
    • Marathon is 11/11/12–coming up quicker than I’d like! Crazy! That is very sweet of you to cheer me on πŸ™‚ It’s a long drive, though! As long as my ovaries aren’t busting out everywhere from the Clomid I think I will be fine to run. We shall see!

      Reply
  3. Glad to hear you found some positives to focus in. That can be very difficult… I’m pretty jealous that Metformin is helping you so much. I literally noticed no differences in anything when I started takin it and it’s been 1.5 years at 1500mg of the extended release version for me. Are you taking extended release? I wonder if that or increasing my dose would help. Last time I got my testosterone checked it was in the 70s as well…ugh

    Reply
    • Here’s what I know about Met: my edno prescribed me 2,000mg of the non extended release type because he said that in clinical trials, this was the dose that gave the maximum effect. He mentioned the extended release was not as effective in some people, although it minimized the intestinal side effects. I take two in the morning and two at night with food, and although my stomach was really uncomfortable the first week, all side effect symptoms are gone now.. Whether or not I’ll ovulate or not remains to be seen, but it seems to be working well for some of the other side effects. He said it takes about 6 months of this to see true results.

      Reply
  4. Also…good luck with the marathon! I could never do that!

    Reply
  5. Go Met! I’m glad that it is doing its job. Doesn’t it seem a bit magical that it works when we don’t even have measurable insulin resistance? Bananas, I say, bananas.

    Reply
    • It’s weird, isn’t it? I have not tested as IR, but the Met appears to be having an effect! I have read that in PCOS, a patient can still be IR without testing IR. It has something to do with the way our body processes glucose, but I’m not sure what that mechanism is. I always like to understand the chemical process by which a medication I’m taking effects my body, but Met has remained somewhat of a mystery to me.

      Reply
  6. Well, nothing wrong with a little doom and gloom temporarily but glad you got off the hopeless train! It’s much more fun on the other side πŸ™‚ And I can’t believe you are running a marathon. I can barely run 2 miles. I have about two weeks to get up to 5k before I do my first 5k run. Any pointers?

    Reply
    • That’s awesome that you’re gearing up to do your first 5K! You will love being a part of a run–it’s really fun. I am a huge fan of the run/walk method–run for 7 minutes, walk for one minute. It has got me through 3 marathons without injury and mentally breaks up the run. You need a watch that does “splits”–basically, you set it to beep at 7 and 1 minute intervals signalling when to walk and when to start running. For a distance like a 5K, I would probably not use this method, and instead try and power through and run the full. Biggest tips are: hydrate the day before–not just the morning of! WALK when you need to, and don’t start too fast out the gate. In fact, go slower than you think you should run, and build up so that you’re actually running faster mid way through your run. Good luck!!

      Reply
  7. So glad you’re feeling better. I feel sometimes like I’m living perpetually in the clomid danger zone. My doc sort of brushed off metformin when I talked about it to him, but I may bring it up again. He’s very….laid back, which sometimes I like because it’s reassuring, but sometimes I want some serious consideration damn it! I’m super jealous you can do the whole running thing. The girls up top don’t make that comfortably possible for me, even short distances.

    Reply
  8. Congrats to you for signing up for the marathon!! That was one of the hardest things I have ever done, but I was so glad to be able to say I did it. You’ll do great!! As for the depressed last post…that was me on Clomid. Other people got angry and loud, but I sunk into a funk. Just know that you’re right, that’s the clomid talking. It’s not you. The real you (from what I know through blogging of course) is hysterically funny and leaves me great comments on my blog πŸ™‚ now go kick the elimination diet’s ass.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

