RSS Feed

HSG Scheduled

Posted on

So…anyone care to expound on what exactly I can expect while expecting liquid dye jammed up my uterus? I have this procedure scheduled for Tuesday morning, and I’ve heard the pain ranges from anywhere from: “meh, just a little crampy”, to “HOLY GOD THAT WAS PAINFUL!!” I’m planning on driving there myself and going straight to work in the afternoon. Is this laughable?

I’m finally back, settling in to life in LA again. The weather Gods magically turned LA from a disgusting 100 degree+ inferno to a pleasant, sunny, crisp freshly rained on city when I arrived Thursday evening. It has felt SO DAMN GOOD. Mainly because Hubs and I are too cheap to installย  new central AC in our place right now, and we decided to “sweat it out” this summer. Little did we know it would be Sum-tober by the time it was all said and done.

I got back my first ever true CD3 test results on Friday. I know, right? TTC for a year, and no official CD 3 test–mainly because I had like 2 periods this year. Argh. Anyway. Moving on.

Estrogen: 15 (certainly don’t have to worry about being estrogen “dominant”, as they want to see anything less than 70), FSH: 5.0 (not too shabby), LH 2.78 (a little on the low side–what gives? I expected it to be high due to the PCOS.) This means my LH/FSH ratio is actually less than 1. Anyone ever heard of anything like this? The nurse calling didn’t seem to think it was a big deal, but I thought it was a little weird. I have a DHEA, T4 and T3, testosterone, and a couple other blood tests coming back in a couple of days. I’m interested to see if the DHEA and testosterone levels have improved from a couple of months ago since I’ve been taking 2,000mg of Metformin religiously. One symptom that has been significantly reduced on the Met is my lovely, ever attractive chin hair. Before the Met, I was plucking about 20 per week. Now I’m down to less than 10! Take THAT man face! It makes me think that my testosterone levels are dropping to that of a non-body builder woman. Huzzah!

On other non medical related news, I’ve been on a bit of a cooking kick the last couple of days. First up: KALE. Let’s get one thing straight: I can’t stand that shit. But it is oh so healthy, and so I’ve been trying to find ways to force it down my throat. After a failed attempt adding it to a smoothie, I made a little kale marinade yesterday and for the first time ever, I actually enjoyed kale!

In a small bowl mix:

4tbs balsamic vinegar

2tbs olive oil

2 cloves minced garlic

Squirt of honey

salt and pepper to taste.

Fill a medium bowl with chopped kale and toss with the dressing.

Add a generous handful of dried cranberries.

Let sit in the fridge for a couple of hours, and then serve. The kale looses some of its toughness and becomes really flavorful and amazing! The cranberries also plump up with the balsamic dressing, and the whole thing is really good.

For today’s cooking project, I am fully intending on making a gluten free pie crust, and homemade dairy free/gluten free pumpkin pie–I bought one of those little Sweetie Pie pumpkins at the store yesterday so I’m attempting to make everything from scratch.

I also need to haul my foi gras-ed, French breaded, and creamy risotto-ed business tripped ass back to the gym today.

Happy Sunday, party people.
**UPDATE: I slaved over the gluten free pie crust and pumpkin pie filling for 2 hours today. The crust turned out great, but something fucked up with the pumpkin pie recipe, and it tasted like I dumped about a pound of salt into it. It only called for a teaspoon of salt, but it also said to salt the pumpkin before cooking it, so I’m thinking maybe that put it over the edge? I have no idea. Fuck. Back to the pumpkin in a can it is. (angrily stabs pumpkin pie and has a mini meltdown because she is lacking sugar, carbs, caffeine, and is on Day 3 of 100mg of Clomid.) Plus I think I’m getting a yeast infection. GODDAMNIT!!!!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

19 responses »

  1. For me the HSG was uncomfortable because they have the speculum in for a few minutes and I have never been great friends with the speculum. Afterwards…crampy and spotting. Its not killer, but I wouldn’t want to do it again either. Good luck!

    Reply
  2. The HSG was also uncomfortable for me, especially when they were pushing the dye. I felt okay within about an hour, but I wouldn’t have wanted to go do anything afterward. Not awful, but not something I would want to do again either. Good luck!

    Reply
  3. I definitely felt some cramping with my HSG, but that could have been because I have a blocked tube. But, I took some Advil afterwards and was able to manage the rest of the day just fine.

    Reply
  4. I think for most women, the HSG test only causes a bit of cramping and possibly some spotting/bleeding. Mine was uncomfortable, but not unbearable, and I don’t recall bleeding at all afterwards. But I had heard horror stories, so I took painkillers an hour before the test and booked the day off work, just in case.

    Thanks for the recipe! I’ll have to try that.

    Reply
  5. While laying on an X-ray table with my legs splayed sans stirrups, with an extra wide speculum, with a catheter, with horrendous cramping, my radiologist mentioned that in his experience the cramping and pain is worse for women with blocked tubes. I thought it was uniquely awful and it felt as if I’d been sucker punched in my uterus 18 times. Fortunately, the pain only exists for a couple of minutes while they are actually doing the procedure. I was definitely internally sore afterwards, but if I had a job I would’ve been able to return to it. I hope those tubes are crystal clear and you don’t experience anything worse than a few mild cramps.

    Reply
  6. Welcome back, sugar! You brought pretty weather with you.

    I didn’t find the HSG to be totally awful, but it wouldn’t make money as a spa treatment.. but I do have a freakishly high pain tolerance and took a lovely vicodin beforehand.

    Reply
    • Oooh. You bring up a veeeery interesting proposition. I think Husband has some oxycodone from a surgery he had…So, I shouldn’t expect a complimentary mani/pedi while I’m in the stirrups? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  7. My HSG wasn’t terrible. It wasn’t pleasant but as soon as it was over, the pain subsided. I went back to work that day. I had no blocked tubes though and I have heard it hurts more if your tubes are blocked. The hysteroscopy was far worse for me.

    Reply
  8. My HSG wasn’t terrible. You can read about it here if you want http://futurefords.wordpress.com/2012/02/04/hsg-test/ much easier than retyping the whole thing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  9. My HSG was probably the worst cramping I ever experienced – but to be fair, I don’t cramp too much otherwise. The technician was pretty ticked at me because I instinctively put my hand on my stomach during the cramping and they ended up with a nice xray of my hand and ring. Best wishes to you!

    Reply
  10. My HSG was absolutely fine. I don’t even remember having much cramping. I was nervous leading up to it, because I’d heard such bad things, but ended up being suprised by how easy it was. I think I was lucky, though. Hope you’re lucky as well.

    Reply
  11. HSG will be totally fine — just like period cramps — unless you have a blocked tube, which could make it a bit more painful. You probably don’t, though. Also, my clinic always insists that I take two Advil one hour before the procedure; it doesn’t just help with the cramps but also relaxes your cervix. I highly recommend doing that!

    Out of curiosity, what were your last DHEA levels? Mine seem really low but my RE insists it’s nothing to worry about… but now I’ve had, like, 6 IUIs fail and am starting to panic. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Good info!! I will definitely pop a couple of Advil before the procedure. My DHEA levels were 246 (very high end of “normal”) The doc thinks this is due to my PCOS and high circulating androgen levels. Latest testosterone was 72 (also pretty high, and definitely out of normal range).

      Reply
  12. I’m glad you asked this question because I am also getting an HSG soon. (We are so on the same track.) Mine is next month. It seems like half of people say that it’s no big deal, and the other half say it hurts. I’m tempted to drug myself with Xanax or something just to take away the anxiety! I always think that fear of pain is worse than the pain itself (usually).

    Regarding your estrogen, I’ve read that ladies with lower estrogen generally stimulate better, so it’s a good thing in that way! I hope the Met made your testosterone go down. Nobody has measured mine, but I do have signs of higher testosterone (oily skin, acne). I’ve been taking inositol, which supposedly can help with insulin resistance like Met does. I hope it works for us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

