RSS Feed

HS-Gee, Never want to do that again.

Posted on

First up, let me address the comments from yesterday’s post: the positive internet juju that was unleashed in the thread was amazing. I get giddy reading your responses.

Diving back into the fertility realm, I got my HSG done yesterday, as well as an endometrial biopsy (if I’m spread eagle on the table, might as well kill two birds with one stone, right?)

The HSG was to check the fallopian tubes and make sure they’re open, and the biopsy was a precautionary measure to make sure that my lack of periods for so many months has not contributed to abnormal cell growth on my uterine lining.

My RE was great in that she prepped me for every step of the way for both procedures, explaining in detail what I could expect to feel before she did it. I think this helped me brace mentally for everything. I also popped two Advil about an hour before the procedure, so that may have helped as well.

First up: uterine biopsy!! This involved scraping cells from my uterus–not a very happy place to have things scraped. Once the catheter was in (not painful at all), she told me the next part would be “crampy”. She asked me to take a deep breath and cough. During my cough I felt some pretty forceful pinching cramps, but nothing unmanageable. The worst part was the 30 seconds afterward when she said I would feel the cramps a bit more intensely (not sure why, but she was right). Overall: I’d rate the pain scale a 3 or 4ish? Evidently, my pain tolerance may be pretty high because the ultrasound tech in the room said she’s seen women scream and cry on the table during this test. She told me this after the procedure was done–thank God.

Next up: HSG! Liquid die was shot in pretty quickly, and I definitely experienced some more intense cramping during that. Overall, I’d say it may have been a bit worse than the biopsy in that it lasted longer and I felt more pressure. Good news? The dye went straight up and out my tubes. Clear for takeoff! Yippee! Pain scale for HSG was about a 4 or 5ish.

So that’s that! I’m on CD8 right now of 100mg Clomid cycle #2. No dominant follicles were seen on yesterday’s ultrasound, but it’s pretty early for that still, I think. Last month I O’d on CD 16, so let’s see if these eggs can find a way to ripen in a week. (pleaseGodpleaseGodpleaseGod). I noticed one on my right ovary which looked bigger than the rest (maybe about 7mm?)
I will start peeing on all the things OPK in a few days just to monitor progress.

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

13 responses »

  1. You must have a high tolerance for pain b/c I have heard horror stories about the biopsy! Glad it all went well and super stoked that your tubes are free and clear. I read somewhere that your chances of pregnancy on a second round of clomid are actually higher than on your first.

    Reply
  2. Yay! Good news about your tubes. Free and clear is the way to be. Also we are kind of cycle buddies…I’m on CD 11 and 50 mg of Clomid. We can be crazy, acne-riddled bitches together 🙂

    Reply
    • Yay kind of cycle buddies!! Except by the looks of your last entry, you’re light years ahead of me in terms of ovulating. I have nary a mature follicle in sight yet 😦 On the plus side, I have no idea why Clomid hasn’t bitch slapped me harder this month. I am sort of hoping I experience some crazed side effects soon so I know it’s fully working.

      Reply
  3. So happy you managed the HSG without a problem! It’s really not that bad, as long as your tubes are clear (I’ll say it: I told you so). 🙂 Funny you should mention the endometrial biopsy — my doc told me this morning he wants me to do an EFT (Endometrial Function Test), which I think is the same thing, but it’s checking for protein/chemical imbalances and apparently I have to pay $400 and ship the sample to some dude at Yale University to analyze it (???).

    Good luck on this next cycle! And like Belle says, I think the FULL cycle of an egg is, like, 90 days or something, so you may not experience the benefits of Clomid until your third cycle. Anything can happen, though!

    Reply
    • From what I understand, the EFT is a much more sensitive test than the simple cancer screening biopsy that I got, and tests for 2 specific markers which can help diagnose unexplained IF. That being said, they will probably do a similar procedure as the one that was done on my biopsy in order to get a sample. It wasn’t so bad, but I certainly wouldn’t want to make it a regular thing 🙂

      Reply
  4. Woot, woot! Lady bits are free and clear for takeoff 🙂

    Glad you got the procedures out of the way, excited to hear how the next steps go.

    Reply
  5. Woot woot!

    My experience was similar with the HSG – again, wouldn’t make money as a spa treatment, but wasn’t that bad.

    Reply
  6. Glad the pain was tolerable! My HSG was also tolerable but I believe that if your tubes are clear.

    Also.. I have heard you have an increased chance of getting pregnant after an HSG. I think the idea is that if there was a minor blockage in the tube, it can actually be flushed out just by the dye.

    Reply
  7. I think the more prepared you are, the less it tends to hurt. Glad all is clear!

    Reply
  8. Gah, I guess a 4 or 5 isn’t that bad, but I’m not looking forward to it next month. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  9. I’m glad everything went well! Clear tubes is great, and I was told by the nurse at my HSG that I should make sure to try that month because there’s a better chance right after. Hopefully the Clomid will do it’s job again this month.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

