RSS Feed

What a difference a week makes

Posted on

What a week.

Because life is alllllways like this, the day after I found out I was pregnant, I got a phone interview for a job that would be an amazing move for my career (plus, it would get me out of the 1 hour+ drive to work I do every day) I did really well over the phone, so now they are calling me in for a final in-person interview where I meet everyone in the department in a couple of weeks. Of course, now my mind is reeling. What the fuck do I do if I get the job? Assuming everything goes all right with this pregnancy, what am I supposed to say? “Hey guys! Thanks for hiring me! Oh, by the way, I’m 3 months pregnant and I’ll be taking off for maternity leave in about 6 months. Love you!!!” I am forcing myself not to think about this considering I have many hurdles on many fronts left to cross. I honestly have no clue what the protocol would be for announcing a pregnancy to a new job, but I would absolutely need to make sure I was on their health plan first.

As for this, um, pregnancy (still can’t quite believe I’m writing *that word*…) I am experiencing some pretty common symptoms–or what I think are common symptoms?  My nipples feel like they’ve been gnawed on by a teething cheetah. I woke up last night to pee, and the stabbing pains I felt shooting through them was certainly not pleasant, but I’m grateful for every last symptom I have right now as I’m convincing myself it’s evidence there’s something still brewing. So. Nipples. Some women are blessed with cute perky nipples regardless if they’re cold or not, but mine have always been pretty small and flat. I had a boyfriend once who surprised me with nipple clamps (umm…thanks?) and we couldn’t even use them because they wouldn’t clamp on. I’m proud to say that I now have 24/7 Jennifer Aniston nips.

Good morning, world!

My boobs in general have gained at least a cup size, and I don’t fit into my bras right now. Hubs is not complaining about this symptom at all, by the way. My ute symptoms are not as strong in the morning, but by the afternoon, I feel a strong pressure/fullness there, and get a continual low level cramp. It’s a hard feeling to describe, but it’s definitely there. I have been peeing a lot, and every time I go, I have a reflexive habit now of saying “please be clean” in my head before I wipe and looking at the toilet paper afterwards for any sign of spotting. Ever so slightly slightly psycho, but I’m doing what I can to get through the fragile first tri.

Lastly, I know this is totally freakishly paranoid of me, but I’ve been afraid to have an orgasm. What if I spasm the baby out or something? Feel free to call bullshit on my nonsense and tell me it’s time to get down and dirty.

 

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

19 responses »

  1. Can’t. Stop. Staring. If your nips are anything like Jen’s and you are bra-less you must be getting some excellent looks from people.

    Reply
  2. Congrats about the job interview – I’m in the EXACT SAME SITUATION! I just got offered a second in-person interview for a couple weeks from now (I’ll be almost 11 weeks) and I have no idea what to do! I was thinking about telling them during the interview, as I’m not even sure I want the job anymore. EEEEK!

    Reply
    • Holy crap, that’s uncanny! My advice (for what it’s worth…) is that if you think there is any inkling that you may want the job, don’t tell them. You are in no way required to EVER let them know that you are pregnant, btw (even when you’re showing!) I know we all let our employers know at some point, but I would keep my options open for now and not say anything.

      Reply
  3. Have the orgasmic sex now is my advice because as you get more and more pregnant the sex, and in particular the orgasms dwindles more and more until finally you have the baby and your baby has colic and before you know it your baby is about to turn 4 months old and you STILL haven’t had sex since the baby was born =) I repeat, have the orgasmic sex now!!!

    Reply
  4. Congratulations on ALL that fantastic news! On the orgasm front.. my sex drive is finally just returning. I did have a few (self inflicted) orgasms in the very beginning and all of a sudden I felt this horrible cramps and pains in my uterus and I was like WTF IS THAT OMG NO WAY. But I read it was normal. So.. don’t panic if your uterus does start doing all kinds of weird contractions that are not that pleasant. Everything I’ve ready says it’s safe…. And as far as the boob soreness goes, I guess just make sure to wrap your chest in bubble wrap before you decide to get down with your husband. lol. Much to his dismay.

    Reply
    • I’ve heard about the contraction stuff too. Oy. I may freak if that happens, but I feel like the prospect of no orgasm for 9 months is prooooblably not going to work either.

      Reply
  5. Congrats on this pregnancy! SO excited for you!!! As far as I know, orgasm is not linked with miscarriage- go get down to business, lady. As for the nipples, after breastfeeding for 20 mos, mine are permanently at attention, even having weaned 2 mos ago. Ugh.

    Reply
  6. I forgot about Jen and her faux dreadlock days! Oh Jen…

    Reply
  7. Take the job and the orgasms!

    Reply
  8. Congrats on your pregnancy! Hope Tuesday’s ultrasound is great!

    Reply
  9. I was having orgasms up until 30 weeks with the quads…go for it unless your doc tells you not to! Congrats again!

    Reply
  10. Good luck with the interview! You should totally celebrate by getting it on with your husband!

    Reply
  11. My orgasms got really intense while pregnant, even when I was really big. I felt my entire belly react and then the babies went crazy, which freaked me out. I agree with Jesica, have lots of orgasms now. We have had sex a few times since having the babies but it has been challenging, especially because we’re afraid at any moment we could be interrupted! I was on pelvic rest from 30 weeks until 6 weeks pospartum, so we didn’t have sex of any kind for at least 10 weeks, and then there was some time after I was off pelvic rest that I still was afraid / not in the mood / too exhausted to do anything.

    Just, if you do have sex now, don’t freak out if you feel your uterus cramping afterwards. It’s normal. It freaked me out the first time 🙂

    Reply
  12. The sex in first trimester was outrageously good for me. Outrageously. I agree with the others that the libido may not last so don’t fear it! I also read somewhere that a mother’s orgasm is like a little massage for the baby and the endorphins are actually good for it… no idea if someone just made that up to excuse their raging sex drive or not but the internet wouldn’t lie… right?

    And congrats on the job offer and good luck figuring it all out 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

