RSS Feed

Rethinking my 5 week ultrasound

Posted on

Ok. So. You know how I have huge anxiety around pee sticks? So much so that I waited until 15dpo to test, and even then, I only used one cheapo HCG strip to confirm, and have never tested again? I’ve realized that my impending ultrasound tomorrow at 5 weeks, 1 day has taken the pee stick anxiety and multiplied it by a thousand.

My RE likes to err on the cautious side, I guess, but after doing some thinking on this, I feel like I am setting myself up for a major lose/lose scenario as I go into what is supposed to be a relaxing 4 day weekend. An ultrasound this early feels akin to doing a pregnancy test at 9DPO–sure, there have been some positives on record…but for the most part, you’re staring at a BFN even if you’re knocked up.

My logic behind waiting another week for the ultrasound is as follows: First up: I have no pain, no spotting, and nothing that would indicate that there is a significant problem thus far. So, I’m not sure what an ultrasound buys me this early, in that department. Second up: 5 weeks and 1 day may be too early to even see an embryo in there, let alone a heartbeat. Sure, we’ve all heard stories about someone who has seen all of the above, but from what I can tell, it’s rare.  For someone who does NOT do well with uncertainty, I can only imagine how my Thanksgiving weekend will unfold should the doctor say, “Well, I don’t see anything in there yet, but it’s probably still too early to tell…” I would MUCH rather wait until I’m around 6 weeks and there is a definite chance of seeing an embryo and (please God) a heartbeat. This would get me past holidays with the family, and into a better space mentally. In the name of turkey, pie, and good times with the fam, ignorance is bliss this early in the game.

So yes. After writing all of this, I believe I am going to forgo the ultrasound tomorrow in favor of sanity over the long weekend. Is this negligent? I just have a hard time believing that I absolutely need one this early. Sorry, little one! Hang tight, and I’ll sneak a peek of you next week.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

15 responses »

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with this approach. So much so that I waited until 10 weeks with Pregnancy #2. Early ultrasounds are rather pointless in my opinion unless as you say you’re spotting or bleeding etc. They can’t confirm a pregnancy will progress and this early they can hardly even confirm a pregnancy. Keep busy and hold out for an ultrasound later in the pregnancy, even 6 weeks is a bit early to see more than a fetal pole!

    Reply
  2. Totally agree with you. I would feel the exact same way! Good luck!

    Reply
  3. I actually almost suggested waiting to 6 weeks a few posts ago when I read that you were going to have a 5 week ultrasound – I fully support this decision!

    Reply
  4. I actually think it is a good call. I wanted to see something as soon as I could but I was really glad that I was forced to wait until I could see something amazing for sure. Go, eat pie, be pregnant!

    Reply
  5. I’m on board with whatever makes you comfy, loverly.

    Reply
  6. Good for you! Ultrasounds are way overused IMO- they are supposed to be a diagnostic tool, and although they are assumed to be safe and gentle, we don’t have tons of data on them. Go with your gut and err on the side of being conservative. With my first, I had a handful of u/s, but this second time around I declined all but the 20 week. I just think it’s important to weigh benefits with potential risks and make sure the balance is on the right side. It seems that docs don’t really encourage us to think that way often. Good luck!

    Reply
  7. I did the whole 5 week ultrasound bit to confirm a uterine pregnancy. It was a bit anti-climactic. I wouldn’t do it again.

    Reply
  8. I totally share your pee-stick phobia and ignorance-is-bliss approach… I’m actually glad I had an early 5-week u/s the only time I was preggo because it turned out to be an ectopic — but I was dealing with signs pointing toward that (had a full period, low beta at 14DPO), whereas you’ve had textbook/healthy symptoms. I think waiting til 6 weeks is the right choice for you (even though I’m dying to know how it goes!). 🙂

    Reply
  9. I would also forgo a 5 week ultrasound! Even my ultra conservative Dr. B did not have me come in until 6.5 weeks. I sort of feel too early an ultrasound is setting one up to panic majorly. If your doctor is cool with it, I would reschedule. Also, enjoy your turkey and pie!

    Reply
  10. I agree with this plan! Sometimes no news is good news. Stay positive 🙂

    Reply
  11. I think waiting is a good idea!! Wishing you the best!!!

    Reply
  12. Sounds like a great plan! Having one at 5 weeks then waiting until 9 weeks would be torture. Seeing a heartbeat at 6 weeks would be a relief. You are a smart cookie.

    Reply
  13. I don’t blame you for that at all. My RE didn’t do a first ultrasound until 6 weeks and I was glad for that. There is too much grey area that early about what you can see and that would have been too much anxiety for me. Enjoy the holiday and see the heartbeat net week!

    Reply
  14. I wasn’t offered an u/s until at least 6 weeks, but they preferred 7w0d. At the time it was torture to wait until 6w6d, but by the time the u/s came around, I knew, for me, it was the right thing. This way there was little left to the unknown and the chance that I’d receive the “let’s wait and see” message was pretty small. Either we would see an embryo and yolk sac with a heartbeat, or we wouldn’t.

    I think it’s really smart of you to recognize that this is an option. Enjoy your weekend! I hope there will be lots of food for you to eat on Thanksgiving!

    Reply
  15. Do whatever is going to keep you sane. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

