RSS Feed

Bagel

Posted on

I want to write much much more on all of this, but for now, a quick update before bed with a promise of more to come will have to do.

Today was, plain and simple, heaven. I saw my baby’s heart beat for the first time. It was a tiny flicker on the screen, but it might as well have filled the room, my lungs, my heart, my world. 158 strong healthy beats per minute, and this little one was measuring a day ahead of schedule at 7weeks 5 days.

Very early on in my pregnancy, I could not stop eating bagels and cream cheese. It was all my body seemed to want. This was also a time when a baby’s size is compared to poppy seeds and sesame seeds, so Hubs and I came up with a name that made perfect sense for our little person: Bagel. I didn’t want to come out with this name until after our first ultrasound, but now that I have seen that gorgeous little flicker of light heart beating, I am proud to announce that Bagel seems as though he likes my uterus well enough to make a cozy home in there. I will post some pics on a separate tab as soon as I can get them scanned and uploaded.

Thank you so much to everyone who sent me good thoughts as I dealt with the anxiety of not knowing how Ultra-Thursday would turn out. These early days in pregnancy are so hard to get through, but that tiny little heart beat just gave me a world full of hope.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

38 responses »

  1. I’m so happy for you, Sunny! This is wonderful news! Much love to your Bagel!!

    P.S. And now I want one… in BOTH senses of the word! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  2. Oh Sunny, this post gives me chills! I’m so glad your little Bagel is hanging in there, growing away. I also can’t believe you are already 7 weeks 5 days! Girl, you are closing in on that second trimester like it is nobodies business! Can’t wait to see bagel’s first picture!

    Reply
  3. SO happy for you!! Yaaaa little Bagel.

    Reply
  4. So happy for you! Please pass some first ultrasound luck our way for Monday!

    Reply
  5. I’m so glad little Bagel is happy and healthy. Very, very happy for you. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Yay Bagel! I’m so happy this is looking good for you!

    And I can totally relate to the bagel and cream cheese cravings. When I was around 7 weeks, I had bagels and cream cheese for lunch and dinner, and then the next day for breakfast, lunch and dinner again. It’s the only thing I wanted!

    Reply
  7. This news makes me very happy indeed!

    Reply
  8. Beaming over here for you! So glad you got such wonderful news and a glorious feeling.

    Reply
  9. Congrats! This is wonderful news. Welcome Bagel!

    (I used to love bagels and cream cheese, but cream cheese and yogurt are two food aversions that have lasted through this pregnancy. I think I’ve been able to stomach a bagel maybe twice since May.)

    Reply
  10. Woohoo!!! Welcome, little Bagel! In a world of gluten intolerance, you somehow managed to sneak in here… can’t wait for more deets on the doctor’s visit. Let’s get a play-by-play. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. SO HAPPY! I was thinking about you yesterday and hoping for good news πŸ™‚ Here’s to a happy and healthy 9 months. When is your next u/s? I still cant believe you held out to 7wks!! You a rockstar

    Reply
    • Haha! After I hit the 7 week mark, I was starting to regret the decision, but in the end, it was so lovely to see Bagel it was worth the wait. Can’t wait to hear more about your little one baking in that oven of yours. Can’t believe we’re like 4 days apart!

      Reply
  12. Yay Bagel. Grow, baby, grow!! Love the crap out of you…and now, Bagel too πŸ™‚

    Reply
  13. Congrats! That is a wonderful moment to cherish. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. That’s AWESOME Sunny-I’m really really glad for you. You’re the one who introduced me to the online IF community, so your success is especially meaningful to me πŸ™‚

    Reply
  15. Congratulations on a great appt! Stay strong Bagel!

    Reply
  16. When that baby is born I’m going to gnaw on it’s face like it was an actual bagel. You should be creeped out.

    Reply
  17. Way to go Sunny and Bagel! Keep it up!

    Reply
  18. Yay! De-lurking to say: So happy for you!

    Reply
  19. That is so wonderful. Congrats! Grow Bagel grow!

    Reply
  20. That’s great! I’m glad that you’ve reached this wonderful milestone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

