RSS Feed

Most Likely Fertile Couple Strikes Again!

Posted on

Way back in July, before the world knew of the iPhone 5, I wrote an entry about a couple of friends we have who got married a month after us. I dubbed them the “Most Likely Fertile Couple” because MLFC Wife does things like pick sesame seeds off of her California rolls, and is generally high maintenance and obliviously annoying. Those are the types that usually get knocked up after having sex twice because the universe likes to hate on those who obsessively chart our body fluids and cry and/or get jealous at tampon commercials. MLFC Wife had told me at a 4th of July dinner that she had been “preparing” her body for pregnancy, and they would start actively trying the following month. I told her between my 3rd and 4th glass of wine that we’re having problems even trying because I hadn’t ovulated in a year. She tried to be understanding, but it was hard to listen to her bitch about how much her period cramps hurt her now that she was off the pill and cycling like clock work.

Well, my friends, today we found out through a mutual friend the news I’ve been practicing my eye roll for. (Eye roll please): I am proud to announce, that MLFC Couple is due…. next June! which means it took them all of…two months of trying since 4th of July!!!!

I’m sure I’ll get to hear from MLFC Wife how scary it was to not get pregnant after the first month.

Yes, I know I sound bitter. Seeing as though I’m pregnant too, I have so damn much to be thankful for, and I know this–trust me–I know this.  But has anyone else had just a tiny part of them that wishes that the MLFC in your lives could experience, even for a day, what it might be like if they weren’t so lucky? I know we all say we wouldn’t wish infertility on our worst enemy, and 97% of that sentiment is true for me, but there are some times that I just…want to be better understood. And I guess that’s the 3% of me that rolls her eyes at the MLFC pregnancy announcement. Even Fertile Franny, who couldn’t shut up about how damn lucky and grateful she was to get pregnant on her first attempt for both of her children doesn’t really know what “lucky” feels like. Unless you’ve been on the side of pain, worry, and fear you may never conceive, you can say how “lucky” you feel until your HCG spews from every orifice, but I have a hard time believing you truly know the meaning of the word. There is not one iota of me that would wish MLFC harm or heartbreak with this pregnancy, it’s just that I guess a part of me wishes that more people could truly understand what some of us go through to get to that BFP.

In non negative/jealous/bitchy news, we are telling the family tonight and tomorrow that Bagel is a-brewing. I’m every emotion rolled up into one. There is a small part of me that is still very scared of telling, since we are only 10 weeks along. But in the spirit of being positive, and embracing this pregnancy, we’re going for it. It’s still hard to tell if I’m “showing” yet–it mostly looks like I ate one too many Krispy Cremes and did away with exercise. My torso is very short, and I have no waste to begin with, so there isn’t much room for my intestines to go, and they feel all bunched up and bloated–but nothing that I would call a “pregnancy belly” yet. The whole “no pooing for three days at a time” may also be contributing to my pooch.  I am praying for poo today before I eat my way through the next couple of days.

Have a healthy and safe holiday, beautiful, gorgeous women!

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

6 responses »

  1. Ugh. I’m pregnant and that annoys me too. And I totally get what you are saying about understanding. I wouldn’t wish IF On anyone but a little less ignorance would be nice for sure.

    Reply
  2. I have had those exact same thoughts….that is a big reason why in general, I am very open about what we are going through. That and so people will at least think twice before saying something extremely stupid in front of me (doesn’t always work). Good luck with the announcement!!

    Reply
    • I think that’s awesome that you are open with people. I agree, more people need to talk about it. It might help others have just a smidgen of insight.No one can empathize until they go through it themselves, but at least there would be more awareness out there that there are a number of women truly struggling.
      But alas, people say dumb things all the time. Like when we found out the place we work at my shut down in May, my two therapist coworkers commented to my other coworker (who they know whose husband does not make a lot of money and this would be a very difficult thing for them) said “well, we’re not too worried. We can just not work for awhile, we feel fortunate our husbands make enough money to take care of us even if we don’t have a job.” ouch! and those are “sensitive therapists.”
      So keep talking!

      Reply
  3. Have fun telling your family!!! I can’t wait to hear how it goes! I am really really thrilled you get to do this 🙂

    Reply
  4. That annoys me to no end. If I was pregnant, that would still annoy the hell out of me. Less ignorance would be so nice sometimes!

    Reply
  5. I know how you feel… except I caught myself recently cursing a super-fertile couple who announced their second pregnancy at 11 weeks (inwardly saying, ‘Of COURSE they don’t need to wait until 12 weeks before telling everyone) — and then found out a few weeks later that she’d miscarried soon after. Then I felt like shit. I also have to remind myself that getting pregnant easily and having a perfect birth STILL doesn’t mean everything just goes swimmingly — another super-fertile couple we know had two perfect pregnancies and now their kids are dealing with severe allergies and behavioural issues. So, you never know. Chances are, no one has it easy ALL of the time.

    Enjoy telling your folks! Such great news to give during the holidays. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

