RSS Feed

My To-Doula List

Posted on

After five phone interviews a few weeks ago, Hubs and I finally sat down with my top phone interview for a face to face meeting, and I am proud to say that we have decided she’s the one! As I mentioned in a previous post, doulas in LA are mucho expensivo, and I spoke with none over the phone whose initial quote was under $1500. Fortunately, we were able to talk her price down to $1,000 which is still kind of steep, but somewhat manageable. After speaking with five different doulas, it’s so interesting how different the energy and vibe was with each of them. There were many that were a bit too…”au naural” for my taste. The doula we are going with is pretty young (probably in her mid to late 20s), but she is very high energy, down to earth, and no nonsense when it comes to everything. I loved that about her, but I can see how some people might want someone who was a more ethereal “become one with the atmosphere” type. She is going to meet with us monthly up until the birth, giving us all sorts of lessons on what to expect during the birth physiologically, and also some techniques on coping with the pain. With her support and instruction, Hubs are hoping to avoid having to spend more money on a birthing class, and will probably try to find some DVDs that will supplement her instruction.

All of your recs for baby gear and gadgets last entry was so helpful! I’m making a list right now, and trying to cost things out. Looks like my mom will be buying our crib, and Mother in Law will be buying our stroller, so YAY! Two big ticket items we are in the clear for. This weekend I will also be clearing out the room for Bagel. We have a desk and a book shelf that will need to be moved, and a closet guy coming to estimate the cost of installing some better shelving in there.

This morning I did my Summer Sander’s Pregnancy workout DVD for the first time. Honestly, it may be my last time, and not because it was too hard. She is just SO fucking annoying. Seriously. I would not recommend this DVD for anyone who has ever had trouble conceiving or anxiety around pregnancy, mainly because she is so goddamn blissed out and happy all the time, or trying and failing at being self deprecating about her lack of rhythm, balance, and her “big butt” (which is about the size of my thumb).

But in good/exciting news…I have been feeling Bagel move!! It usually happens when I’m sitting or lying down, or in the morning when I’m eating breakfast, but the only way I can describe it is that it’s like a teeny tiny muscle spasm in my mid-lower abdomen that moves around a bit during the day. I gotta say…the feeling is…amazing.

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

5 responses »

  1. Yeah… Summer Sanders is a bit much to listen too. I put her on mute and turn on the radio on the occasions I do it. I’m a much bigger fan of the Perfect Pregnancy workout DVD and then just poking around Fit Sugar and finding prenatal workouts there that I can patch together into a full body routine.

    Yay for prepping baby’s room and embracing this!

    Reply
  2. Not sure I could ever trust a woman named Summer, to be honest. šŸ™‚ So wait, are you guys using a doula and then an OB for the actual delivery and such? It’s a really interesting combo, and makes a lot of sense to me. In Canada, you have to choose between an OB and a midwife — both are free, but you can’t have both at once. I think I’d probably want a bit of top-notch medical experience combined with a bit of hand-holding and advice, though, ya know? Anyway, glad to hear things are moving along!

    Reply
  3. Ah! How exciting. Movement! I can’t wait!

    Reply
  4. For me, the doula was priceless. I probably would have shat my baby out onto the floor without her.

    Congrats, by the way! I don’t think I’ve told you that yet! Bad bloggie friend (slaps self in face).

    Reply
  5. Feeling movement is the best!!! Glad everything is going along so smoothly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

