RSS Feed

Hmmm…maybe there really is a baby in there….

Posted on

I will preface my first baby bump post with a few admissions:

1. I hate. Like…HATE. pictures of myself. You know those people who plaster various snapshots of themselves from every imaginable angle all over their FB page, and look great doing it? Not me. I can count on one hand how many good pictures I have of myself. Back in the days when I online dated, my most consistent “first meeting” comment from the shocked men who dared to ask me out based on my personality and a photo was “Wow. You really don’t look like your picture at all.” This wasn’t a “try to get in your pants” reaction. This was genuine shock. And it’s true. I really don’t. Thank God. And lucky for them, they took a chance and asked Quasimoto out and reaped the benefits. Hubs has noticed this phenomenon and is still perplexed by it. We’ll snap photos of me and laugh hysterically at how bad they look. He says, “I just don’t get it…you’re hot…but you look so…strange in this photo”.  So, the cropped head you’ll see in these photos is really less about internet anonymity, and more about me protecting the world from my lack of photogenics. You know those black and white pics of your grandma when she was young, and you oooh and ahhh over how gorgeous she was? My grandkids will not be doing that.

2. I have been on the fence about taking bump photos in general. At the beginning, I really didn’t want to jinx anything (silly logic, I know…)  and as I got further along, I thought (stupidly) “Well, how much could I have really changed in 6 weeks?” Silly, silly girl. It’s insane how much my body has changed in 6 weeks, and I really do want to be more mindful of commemorating it now that I’ve seen the comparison.

So without further ado…belly shots for all!

Headless me (and Bagel) at 12 weeks.

Headless me (and Bagel) at 12 weeks.

Headless me (and Bagel) at 18 weeks!

Headless me (and Bagel) at 18 weeks!

No doubt about it, ladies. There’s something growing in there, and only 57% of it is 3 days worth of constipation poop.

I’ll make a vain admission: I love my boobs right now. And I also like my belly. I like it better at the bigger 18 week size than I did at 12 weeks where I was still sucking in pudge and feeling uncomfortable in my pants. Now, I let it all hang loose, and it’s been faaaaahhhbulous.

I Skyped with my Mother in Law over the weekend and showed her my stomach. She paused and said, “You know your belly is the size of a 7 month pregnant woman, right? How did it get so big???” And you know what? I loved hearing that! So what if my tummy is a bit bigger than the rest. That there is Bagel, and he/she is growing loud and proud (P.S: Bagel, you still have to fit through my vagina, so please try to keep it under 9 pounds.)

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

12 responses »

  1. You look amaaaazing! Also, I recall a photo you took of yourself ages ago, when you had your first positive OPK I think, and you looked gorgeous! I mean, I think most of your face was blocked by the pee stick, but still. Enjoy your bump these next few months, regardless of how much of it is baby vs poop. 🙂

    Reply
  2. What? You do not look 7 months pregnant! You do look great though!

    Reply
  3. Mother-in-laws are so precious, aren’t they? 🙂 Soooooo jealous of the bump! You look great! I can’t wait until I’m out of the looks-like-too-much-beer-drinking-happened phase of my gut!

    Reply
  4. You look awesome! And you’ve inspired me – I was putting it off but I think it’s time to take pictures. You are right – you change so much in a few weeks!

    Reply
  5. I love it! Congratulations! Bagel is growing strong. You look fabulous!

    Reply
  6. You do not look 7 months pregnant but I am with you on loving the “you look huge” comments. I loved being told I looked big because it meant my babies were big! But I understand not liking those comments for those who don’t.

    Also, my husband and I both look terrible in photos, it is hilarious. We look like someone photoshopped us into every photo we are in. Both of us! Our wedding photos are CRAZY BAD. Except the candid ones (I asked for a photojournalist style photographer, I told her that any staged photo would look terrible so she will have to hunt us like wild animals in the jungle. Which is exactly what happened.)

    Reply
  7. Haha, definitely a baby in there!

    Reply
  8. You look wonderful!!!! There is DEFINITELY a baby in there! And, yeah, your boobs look great!!

    Reply
  9. Yay!!! Great bump shot! I took my 12 week pic yesterday. I always look pregnant because of my messed up abs anyway, though. lol

    Here from ICLW

    Reply
  10. Good Lord woman! I blink and LOOOK at you. You’re gorgeous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

