RSS Feed

20 Week Anatomy scan. The results are in…

Posted on

I will begin by saying that Bagel is healthy, happy, and was napping on my placenta all throughout our 20 week ultrasound, making it very easy for doc to get the measurements he needed. (Can you please be as cooperative during infancy, Bagel?) Doc was shaking Bagel a bit to try and position him/her for a 3D headshot, but Bagel basically refused to be woken from the cat nap and all we were able to get was half an (adorable) profile poking up from my placenta. Bagel, as it turns out from the pic, inherited every last living feature of her father’s from what I can tell. Obviously, Bagel shares half my genes, but  definitely has Dad’s mouth and cheek bones, and basically looks like his sleeping clone. I’ve added another pic in Bagel’s section.

There is one slight crook in the plan right now, and that is my placenta. It turns out I have a low lying placenta–right side anterior AND posterior…So…sort of folded around both front and back of my uterus? WTH? The doc said that there wasn’t any blood vessel in the middle (which he said was a good thing, but honestly, I didn’t think to ask what he meant by that, and now I can’t find any info on it.) He also said that it’s close to, but not partially or fully over my cervix, and there’s a 95% chance that it will move up on its own. I’m going back in at 34 weeks to make sure it’s moved up on its own, but it did plant a bit of a worry in my head. Anything close to the cervix around 34 weeks and I may need to go in for a big C. Anyone else have a low lying placenta?

And now…for the moment you’ve all been waiting for…

Is the Bagel we have all come to know a He Bagel? Or a She Bagel?

And the answer is….

A SHE BAGEL!!!

We are thrilled (and also majorly terrified when I reminisce about my teenage years…) to have a daughter. I will ruminate on this in a separate post, but mainly, Hubs and I are over the moon that she is healthy.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

14 responses »

  1. Yay! SheBagel!

    Apple’s placenta was also close to the cervix and it moved – the uterus stretches and the placenta kind of goes along for the ride. 🙂

    Reply
  2. So excited for you! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Yayyyy!!!! So happy for you!!!

    Reply
  4. Hooray for lady bagel! Boo for low lying placenta 🙂

    Reply
  5. Ohhhh, yay! What an awesome day!

    Reply
  6. I love lady bagels! Beautiful!

    Reply
  7. Ugh, low lying placenta sucks. I had an anterior one and then spent every week leading up to that 34 week scan quietly pondering it. Turns out everything was fine – it is still low-ish but well out of the way of the birth canal now which is all that matters. The way one of my midwives described it was that it is like if you have a little mark on your fingernail – as the fingernail grows, the mark moves up. Apparently placentas are like that, moving upwards as your uterus grows, so fingers crossed that it does what it is supposed to and you can avoid a C section.

    Oh, and congrats on brewing up a pink one!

    Reply
  8. Haha, Sunny you gave it away before the big reveal! “every last living feature of her father’s”… but still exciting, I must say. I was totally thinking boy. Congrats on a healthy 20-week scan; I’m sure the placenta will correct itself.

    Reply
  9. A SHE-BAGEL!! Congrats momma!!

    Reply
  10. Congrats! So exciting!

    Reply
  11. Love it! Congrats on a great anatomy scan and baby girl findings. You are trending right with Kim K & Princess Kate, you know 🙂 And thanks for the comment on my last blog post – much love to my cycle sistah!

    Reply
  12. Yay for a she bagel!! Congrats!

    Reply
  13. Congratulations on the she bagel!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

